Armadillo cinematographer honoured

AWARDS. Director of Photography Lars Skree, who put his life on the line while filming the war drama 'Armadillo' in Afghanistan, received the Roos Award 2010 at Ebeltoft, Saturday 28 August.

Tough guy, yet a poet

Colleagues in the film sector describe Lars Skree as a person with a complex personality and a man with a huge artistic reservoir. For his excellence, his kindness and courage, the awards committee gave the following motivation:

  • Lars Skree has a unique ability to live in the moment—listening and observing intensely. One eye is focused on that closest to him, the view in his camera lense, the other, on the broader perspective, that which is happening outside his camera frame. He has a 7th sense when it comes to what is about to happen, and he knows when to let the camera roll.
  • Lars Skree has a sharp aesthetical eye and a wide range of professional skills. He masters effortlessly the 'staged' and 'real' setting within documentary, as well as poetic reflection and raw drama. He is willing to go to great lengths to bring back his images; and with an intensity that puts his life on the line.
  • Lars Skree is a generous and creative collaborator. He has an understanding for the film's needs and the director's vision; he is a talented player and opponent. Even though he may not please the director, his insistence has led to a better film.
  • Lars Skree has a high morale and great compassion. He is able to make people around him feel at ease, and is always critically aware of what he is filming and, not least, why.
  • Lars Skree is yin and yang; a tough guy, yet a poet, combat soldier, yet a graceful line dancer.

Lars Skree graduated as Director of Photography from the National Film School of Denmark in 1997. He has filmed a number of feature and documentary films, receiving awards for his cinematography, among other films, 'The Swenkas' (director Jeppe Rønde),  'Love on Delivery', 'Ticket to Paradise' (both directed by Janus Metz). Lars Skee is also Director of Photography on 'Blood in the Mobile' (by Frank Piasecki Poulsen), to be released domestically this week.


DFI presse release
Roos Award 2009
and the Roos Award goes to


About the Roos Award

Members of the Roos Awards Committee 2010: Henrik Bo Nielsen, Danish Film Institute CEO; Malene Flindt Pedersen, DFI Head of Development; and last year's winner director Anders Østergaard and producer Lise Lense-Møller. The award consists of a cash prize of 25,000 kroner (3,360 euros).

The Roos Award, named after the documentary film pioneer Jørgen Roos, was established in 1995 for the purpose of rewarding outstanding efforts in Danish documentary filmmaking.

Past awardwinners include Jørgen Roos, Jørgen Leth, Sami Saif, Phie Ambo, Janus Billeskov Jansen, Jon Bang Carlsen, Jesper Jargil, Anne Wivel, Tue Steen Müller, Niels Pagh Andersen, Arne Bro, Steen Møller Rasmussen and Tine Fischer.