Experience, understand, create

The Danish Film Institute strives to give children and young people a variety of opportunities to experience, understand and create moving images.

Film and interactive media, as agents of culture and language, are an integral part of how young audiences experience their identity and place in the world. It is important that they encounter high-quality moving images about a broad range of subject matter and nationalities, and that they understand and actively use media.

The Danish Film Institute works to give children and young people the very best opportunities to interact with moving images in their daily lives. In a global context, the DFI engages with the international community, working with film projects for young audiences and nurturing talent development.

25% of the DFI’s funding is earmarked for films and activities for children and youth. This includes development and production of films and computer games of all genres, distribution across various platforms, film education in the form of free study guides, screening at schools, teacher training, support to festivals, international creative exchange – and much more. Read more about funding.

You can find details about the DFI's activities and services for kindergartens, primary and secondary schools as well as public libraries in the Children & youth section.

Children & Youth Staff

Claus Hjorth
Head of Department
Tel. + 45 2261 5381
clausnh@dfi.dk
Head of Children & Youth

Barbara Rovsing Olsen
Project Coordinator
Tel. +45 2286 9043
barbarao@dfi.dk
Pre-school, international cultural exchange

Carsten Olsen
Publishing and Library Consultant
Tel. +45 2537 1388
carsteno@dfi.dk
Educational streaming site Filmcentralen, libraries

Charlotte Giese
Special Adviser
Tel. +45 2332 9030
charlotg@dfi.dk
Pre-school, international cultural exchange, using films in schools

Jacob S. Breuning
Consultant Cinema Culture
Tel. +45 2010 0206
jacobb@dfi.dk
Screening programme for schools (Med Skolen i Biografen)

Kari Eggert Rysgaard
Educational Adviser
Tel. +45 3374 3670
karir@dfi.dk
FILM-X, pre-school

Lisbeth Juhl Sibbesen
Editor Film Education 
Tel. +45 2538 2618
lisbeths@dfi.dk
Using films in schools, educational streaming site Filmcentralen, pre-school

Louise Fischer
Educational Services Coordinator 
Tel. +45 5096 7477
louisef@dfi.dk
FILM-X, pre-school

Mads Bo Petersen
Online Project Manager 
Tel. +45 3374 3564
madsp@dfi.dk
Educational streaming site Filmcentralen

Martin Brandt-Pedersen
Consultant Film Education
Tel. +45 2286 9042
martinb@dfi.dk
Using films in schools, educational streaming site Filmcentralen