Experience, understand, create

The Danish Film Institute strives to give children and young people a variety of opportunities to experience, understand and create moving images.

Film and interactive media, as agents of culture and language, are an integral part of how young audiences experience their identity and place in the world. It is important that they encounter high-quality moving images about a broad range of subject matter and nationalities, and that they understand and actively use media.

The Danish Film Institute works to give children and young people the very best opportunities to interact with moving images in their daily lives. In a global context, the DFI engages with the international community, working with film projects for young audiences and nurturing talent development.

25% of the DFI’s funding is earmarked for films and activities for children and youth. This includes development and production of films and computer games of all genres, distribution across various platforms, film education in the form of free study guides, screening at schools, teacher training, support to festivals, international creative exchange – and much more. Read more about funding.

You can find details about the DFI's activities and services for kindergartens, primary and secondary schools as well as public libraries in the Children & youth section.

Children & youth

Claus Hjorth
Head of Department
Tel. + 45 2261 5381
clausnh@dfi.dk

Jacob S. Breuning
Consultant Cinema Culture
Tel. +45 2010 0206
jacobb@dfi.dk

Martin Brandt-Pedersen
Consultant Film Education
Tel. +45 2286 9042
martinb@dfi.dk

Louise Fischer
Educational Services Coordinator 
Tel. +45 5096 7477
louisef@dfi.dk

Charlotte Giese
Special Adviser
Tel. +45 2332 9030
charlotg@dfi.dk

Lisbeth Brunebjerg Holmegaard
Project Manager
Tel. +45 3374 3607
lisbethh@dfi.dk

Liselotte Michelsen
Communications Manager 
Tel. +45 3374 3566
liselottem@dfi.dk

Stine Nørgaard 
Film and Classification Coordinator
Tel. +45 3374 3601
medieraadet@dfi.dk

Barbara Rovsing Olsen
Project Coordinator
Tel. +45 2286 9043
barbarao@dfi.dk

Carsten Olsen
Publishing and Library Consultant
Tel. +45 2537 1388
carsteno@dfi.dk

Mads Bo Petersen
Online Project Manager 
Tel. +45 3374 3564
madsp@dfi.dk

Lone Hejlskov Munkeberg
Project Manager
Tel. +45 3374 3602
lonem@dfi.dk

Kari Eggert Rysgaard
Educational Adviser
Tel. +45 3374 3670
karir@dfi.dk

Lisbeth Juhl Sibbesen
Editor Film Education 
Tel. +45 2538 2618
lisbeths@dfi.dk

Diana Bjørn Milenkovic
Project Manager
Tel. +45 3374 3479
dianam@dfi.dk