Copenhagen hosts 21st European Film Awards

When the 21st European Film Awards (EFA), hosted by Danish television star Mikael Bertelsen, kick off in Copenhagen Saturday 6 December, the evening will see the presentation of honours to the renowned founders of Dogme and Danish producer Vibeke Windeløv. Dogme — European Achievement in World Cinema AwardThe Dogme fraternity, Lars von Trier, Thomas Vinterberg, Søren Kragh-Jacobsen and Kristian Levring, will receive EFA's European Achievement in World Cinema Award in recognition of their dedication to European filmmaking and of giving a unique impulse to the world of film.  "In 1995, a group of Danish filmmakers rocked the film world, establishing a revolutionary set of rules for filmmaking, and invading film festivals and cinema screens with a distinctive, rough and not always comfortable look. Thus Dogma was born … without doubt it has exerted a strong influence on filmmaking and has set an astonishing example for filmmakers all over the world, demonstrating that it is possible to make successful films on a low budget in a small film nation, and without a tripod." (Projections 15, Faber&Faber)
Vibeke Windeløv — Prix EurimagesVibeke Windeløv will receive the Prix Eurimages, an award that acknowledges the decisive position which co-production occupies within the European film industry. Windeløv worked on films that were part of the new wave of Danish cinema. She produced all of Lars von Trier’s films from 1994 to 2006 including "Breaking the Waves" (Cannes Grand Jury Prize, European Film of the Year 1996), "Dancer in the Dark" (Cannes Palme d'Or, European Film of the Year 2000) and the television series "The Kingdom". Other credits include a variety of short films and documentaries by and about artists, such as Per Kirkeby, Karin Westerlund and Asger Jorn. Windeløv served on the board of the European Film Academy from 1998 to 2004, and was a member of the jury of the Venice Film Festival 2001, of the Montreal Film Festival 2006, and of Sevilla Festival de Cine Europeo 2008.The award for European co-producers is presented by Eurimages, the support fund of the Council of Europe for co-production, distribution, exhibition and digitization of European cinematographic works. Also to receive the Prix Eurimages is German producer Bettina Brokemper, who is currently working on Trier's "Antichrist".

Thure Lindhardt and Mads Mikkelsen nominated

Nominated in the category of Best European Actor 2008 are two Danish actors: Thure Lindhardt and Mads Mikkelsen for their roles in "Flame & Citron". The film is directed by Ole Christian Madsen and produced by Lars Bredo Rahbek for Nimbus Film. Among the impressive line-up of actors and actresses who will be presenting the awards are Danish Paprika Steen and Mads Mikkelsen. Accompanying the presenters will be a group of colleagues, all of whom have been chosen by European Film Promotion (EFP) as Shooting Stars, among these are Stine Fischer Christensen (Denmark, 2008) and Thure Lindhardt (Denmark, 2000).In conjunction with the awards ceremony, a number of events and masterclasses will be held in Copenhagen, presenting Nik Powell, Ari Folman and Wim Wenders.For further information:European Film Awards (EFA)

Film Trailer
Flame & Citron

Danish Film Institute
Vicki Marie Synnott, +45 3374 3438,