Copenhagen International Film Festival (CIFF) Awards 2003


At the final gala
evening of the Copenhagen International Film Festival (13 - 20 August) the
following awards were presented:

Golden Swan for Best
Feature Film: "A Song for a Raggy Boy", directed by Aisling Walsh,
produced by Subotica Entertainment, Ireland, in co-production with
Golden Swan for Best
Director: Bent Hamer for "Kitchen Stories", produced by Bulbul Film,
Golden Swan for Best
Actor: Kristoffer Joner for his role as Reidar in "Falling Sky",
directed by Gunnar Vikene, produced by Motlys, Norway, co-production
with Final Cut Productions
Golden Swan for Best
Actress: Stephanie Léon for her role as Mille in "Scratch", directed by
Anders Gustafsson, produced by Nimbus Film, Denmark
Golden Swan for Best
Screenplay: David Trueba for "Soldiers of Salamina", directed by Trueba
himself, produced by Lolafilms S.A., Spain
Golden Swan for Best
Cinematography: Harald Paalgard for "The Tenth Muse - Conversations with
Asta Nielsen", directed by Torben Skjødt Jensen, produced by Point of No
Return and DR TV, Denmark
The Jury's Lifetime
Achievement Award: Vera Gebuhr, actress, Denmark (the lead in "The Tenth
Muse - Conversations with Asta Nielsen")
Grand Special Prize
of the Jury: "§21 The Killing Machine Khmer Rouge", directed by Rithy
Panh, produced by INA and Arte, France
Special Prize of the
Jury: "Belleville Rendez-Vous", an animation film directed by Sylvain
Chomet, produced by Les Armateurs and Production Champion,
Members of the
International Jury: (Jury President)Theo Angelopoulos (Greece), Marion
Hänsel (Belgium), Ole Roos (Denmark), Jutta Brückner (Germany), Jan Troell
Other awards presented
20 August:

CIFF's Lifetime
Achievement Award: Gabriel Axel, director, Denmark
Politiken's Audience
Award: "The Tenth Muse - Conversations with Asta Nielsen", directed by
Torben Skjødt Jensen, Denmark
At the opening galla of the festival 13 August, the following awards
were presented:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Liv Ullmann, director, Norway
Honorary Award - for his contribution to the art of cinema and its
history: Theo Angelopolous, director, Greece
Honorary Award - for his masterpiece "Dogville": Lars von Trier,
director, Denmark
For further information
Copenhagen International Film Festival (CIFF)/
Anita Frank Goth, tel +45 3345 4735,
Danish Film Institute/ www.dfi.dkVicki Synnott, tel +45 3374