Danish docs—Cinema Eye

NOMINATIONS. Six nominations from Cinema Eye add to the splash of honours bestowed on Danish documentaries this year. Janus Metz' awardwinning film 'Armadillo' is competing in 6 out of 12 categories, and there are films by Andreas Koefoed, Mads Brügger, Michael Madsen and Kaspar Astrup Schröder.

Danish documentary films are strongly represented at Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking 2011. Nominees were announced at Sheffield Doc/Fest in England over the weekend. 'Armadillo', with six nominations, is only surpassed by Lixin Fans Canadian 'Last Train', which received seven nominations.

The awards ceremony will take place 18 January 2011 at the Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens, New York, and broadcast on television for the first time, on the Documentary Channel.

The Danish films and their categories are as follows:

'Albert's Winter' by Andreas Koefoed and the National Film School of Denmark
Outstanding Achievement inNonfiction Short Filmmaking

'Armadillo' by Janus Metz and Fridthjof Film
Awarded in six categories: Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking, in Direction, Production, Cinematography (Lars Skree), Editing (Per K. Kirkegaard) and in an International Feature Film

'Into Eternity' by Michael Madsen and Magic Hour Films
Outstanding Achievement inan International Feature Film

'The Invention of Dr. Nakamats' by Kaspar Astrup Schröder
Outstanding Achievement inGraphic Design and Animation

'The Red Chapel' by Mads Brügger and Zentropa
Outstanding Achievement inan International Feature Film