Six projects on Greenland and the Faroe Islands in the pipeline

FUNDING. The Norddok fund, running in 2019 with the special purpose of supporting non-fiction films on Greenland and the Faroe Islands, has granted development funding to six projects.

Earlier this year, the Danish government established a fund dedicated to the development and production of documentaries on Greenland and the Faroe Islands.

The fund, Norddok, will run in 2019 and benefit films and TV productions creating stories from Greenland, the Faroe Islands and Denmark. The aim is to promote and strengthen the community among the three nations in what is known as the Unity of the Realm (Rigsfællesskabet).

The fund has a one-time allotment of DKK 10m (EUR 1.34m), to be spent in 2019. Applicants may come from the Faroe Islands, Greenland or Denmark.

A five-member editorial board is set up to assess the projects, including two members each from Greenland and the Faroe Islands and one from Denmark.

Six projects moving forward

With a deadline in June for applying for development funding, the board has now assessed the submitted applications, resulting in grants for the following 6 projects, chosen from a total of 39 applications:

  • 'Rák' by Teitur Árnason, produced by Fannir Film & Forlag, Faroe Islands.
  • 'Selvstændighedens vej' by Adrian Redmond and Peter Jensen, produced by Channel 6 Television, Denmark – in co-production with Inuk Media, Greenland.
  • 'Silvurdrungur' by Cecilie Debell and Maria Guldbrandsø Tórgarð, produced by Made in Copenhagen 2, Denmark – in co-production with Kykmyndir, Faroe Islands.
  • 'Siunissaq – det sidste menneske' by Ivalo Frank, produced by Kran Film Collective, Denmark – in co-production with Ujâvaaq Pictures, Greenland.
  • 'Tað Hjartað Sær, Gloymist Ei' by Beinta á Torkilsheyggi, Marianna Mørkøre and Rógvi Rasmussen, produced by Rógviper, Faroe Islands.
  • 'Whistlebloweren, der fløjtede efter nordlyset' by Inuk Silis Høeg, produced by Ánorâk Film, Greenland.

The 6 projects will be developed until November 2019. After that the Norddok board will decide which projects should be granted production funding.

The board consists of Kuupik Kleist (Greenland), Peter Olsen (Greenland), Tina Wagner Sørensen (Faroe Islands), Jóhan Martin Christiansen (Faroe Islands) and Anita Reher (Denmark).

For more information, contact Annemarie Hørsman, 

Read more on Norddok (Danish)