Tone Mygind Rostbøll is new film commissioner

FILM PEOPLE. Tone Mygind Rostbøll "has a big commitment to and insight into the target group," says CEO Claus Ladegaard about the Danish Film Institute's newly appointed film commissioner, focusing on children and youth.

The Danish Film Institute has appointed Tone Mygind Rostbøll as new film commissioner for short and documentary films, focusing on children and youth. She will replace current commissioner Ulla Hæstrup on 1 March 2020.

Tone Mygind Rostbøll is a graduate from the National Film School of Denmark where she studied screenwriting. She has worked with fiction and documentaries for children and youth in many different capacities – including as a writer, director, teacher and consultant. Furthermore, Mygind Rostbøll has studied journalism at Roskilde University.

CEO of the Danish Film Institute, Claus Ladegaard, says about the appointment: 

"Tone Mygind Rostbøll has a big commitment to and insight into the target group. It is important to set the right framework and innovate the way we tell stories for children and youth in a changed media landscape. I believe Tone Mygind Rostbøll is the right person for the job. She is well versed in development and project management, and as a writer she has been involved in many different kinds of film projects of high quality." 

Tone Mygind Rostbøll says: 

"I believe that we should view the growing digital output as a driving force in creating better stories that can cut through the noise and reach children and young people's hearts. Stories with strong role models, told at eye level with the audience and their complex reality. It is a pleasure for me as a commissioner to be able to contribute to the ongoing development and production of quality film and TV series that can connect with and challenge the young audiences." 


The Film Commissioner subsidy scheme aims at films that are artistically innovative and challenge their audiences. The scheme supports features, documentaries and short films.

The film commissioners aim at supporting the best projects on the merit of their content and artistic quality, performing a subjective assessment grounded in a professionally competent analysis. Each film commissioner is backed by a producer who provides an assessment of the project's financial and technical aspects.

The six film commissioners
/ as per 1 March 2020

Feature films:
Kalle Bjerkø
Silje Riise Næss
Lotte Svendsen (children and youth)

Short and documentary films:
Frank Piasecki Poulsen
Cecilia Lidin
Tone Mygind Rostbøll (children and youth)