Side by Side wins Odense Grand Prix

The short fiction film, the popular "Side by Side" won the Grand Prix at Odense International Film Festival's national section.

"Side by Side is directed by Christian Sønderby Jepsen and produced by Jesper Jack for Cosmo Film Doc. About two neighbours who live side by side but haven't spoken for more than 15 years, this visually compelling film takes us far beyond the animosity of the conflict, and unravels the incidents that stirred the conflict in the first place.

Odense' Audience Choice Award went to Michael Noer's "The Wild Hearts", a documentary lensing down on a reckless, though sensitive, group of moped-riding youths. This film was produced by Sarita Christensen and Nina Helveg for Copenhagen Bombay.

On everybody's lips this year is the documentary title "Burma V.J.", which won Odense's Best Documentary, adding yet another award to a long list, which includes IDFA's Joris Ivens Award and Berlinale's International Human Rights Award. "Burma V.J." is directed by Anders Østergaard for Lise Lense-Møller at Magic Hour Films.

Furthermore, two short fiction films were honoured: "The Sylpphid", selected for Cannes Cinéfondation earlier this year, was honoured with the animation jury's Talent Award. This film is directed by Dorte Bengtson and produced by Caroline Blanco at the National Film School of Denmark. 

And "Cathrine", showcased at Berlin's Generation K14, won Best Short Film. "Catherine" is directed by Mads Matthiesen, produced by Jonas Bagger for Framework Films and Nordisk Film.

Overview of awards presented
Odense Internation Film Festival (17-22 August 2009)

National Films Jury
National Grand Prix: "Side by Side" by Christian Sønderby
Best Short Fiction: "Cathrine" by Mads Matthiesen
Best Documentary: "Burma VJ" by Anders Østergaard
Special Mention: "Mig og Jesper" by Ulrik Crone and "Natasja" by Andreas Johnson

Audience' Choice Award
"The Wild Hearts" by Michael Noer (Denmark)

International Jury
International Grand Prix: "Next floor" by Denis Villeneuve (Canada)
Most Inventive Film: "Photograph of Jesus" by Laurie Hill (Great Britain)
Most Surprising Film: "Jade" by Daniel Elliot (United Kingdom)
Special Mention: "Destination Finale" by Philip Widmann (Germany)
Special Mention: "Dust Kid!" by Jumi Jung (South Korea)

Best Animation: "Dust Kid!" by Jumi Jung (South Korea)
Talent Award: "The Sylpphid" by Dorte Bengtson (Denmark)
Special mention: "Leitmotif" by Jeanette Nørgaard (Denmark)

Children & Youth Films
Best International Film: "Free" by Gustavo Rondon (Venezuela)
Best Danish Film: "Terrorist ved et tilfælde" af Miki Mastratis
Special Mention: "The Wild Hearts" by Michael Noer (Denmark)