Submarino in the Run for Nordic award

NOMINATION. Thomas Vinterberg's "Submarino" is among the five films nominated for the prestigious Nordic Council Film Prize 2010.

Thomas Vinterberg's "Submarino" is selected as the Danish candidate for this year's Nordic Council Film Prize, a distinguished film art award of the Nordic countries.

"Submarino", a story of two brothers plagued by a family tragedy, will be competing with "Metropia" (Sweden), "Upperdog" (Norway), "The Good Heart" (Iceland) and "Steam of Life" (Finland).


Nordisk Film & TV Fond

Article FILM#68
Essential Bonds

Past winners

2009 "Antichrist"
Lars von Trier, Denmark

2008 "You, the Living"
Roy Andersson, Sweden

2007 "The Art of Crying"
Peter Schønau Fog, Denmark

2006 "Zozo"
Josef Fares, Sweden

2005 "Manslaughter"
Per Fly, Denmark

2002 "The Man Without a Past"
Aki Kaurismäki, Finland

Winner of last year's award was "Antichrist" by Lars von Trier and producer Meta Louise Foldager.

Rooted in Nordic culture

The Nordic Council Film Prize is awarded to a feature film rooted in Nordic culture. The prize is shared between the film's director, scriptwriter and producer, underlining the fact that film as an art form is the result of a close collaboration between these three main functions.

The prize will be announced on October 20 and presented in conjunction with the Nordic Council's Fall Session in Reykjavik on November 2. The honour is accompanied by a cash prize of DKK 350,000 (47,000 euro).

The Nordic Council Film Prize, administered by Nordisk Film & TV Fond, was introduced in 2002. The Danish member of the jury for the 2010-prize is professor Anne Jerslev.

Berlin competitor

"Submarino" was in competition at this year's Berlinale and is Thomas Vinterberg's third film in Danish since his pivotal international breakthrough "The Celebration"/"Festen" (1998), winning in Cannes. His two English-language features "It's All About Love" (2003) and "Dear Wendy" (2005) were both selected for Sundance.

The script for "Submarino" is by Tobias Lindholm and Thomas Vinterberg, and Morten Kaufmann produced for Nimbus Film.