Three Danish films nominated for European Film Awards

NOMINATIONS. Three Danish films are nominated for European Film Awards: 'Apolonia, Apolonia' for Best European Documentary, Mads Mikkelsen for Best European Actor for his role in ‘The Promised Land’ and ‘The Quiet Migration’ for Best European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI.

Danish films have received three nominations for this year's European Film Awards, which takes place in Berlin on December 9th. Lea Glob's multiple award-winning artist portrait 'Apolonia, Apolonia' is nominated for Best European Documentary, Mads Mikkelsen is nominated as Best European Actor for his role in Nikolaj Arcel's The Promised Land – which is Denmark’s official Oscar-submission – while Malene Choi's ‘The Quiet Migration’ is nominated for the European Discovery Award – Prix FIPRESCI.

The Promised Land

‘The Promised Land’ centers on the poor soldier Ludvig Kahlen, played by Mads Mikkelsen, who in 1755 arrives in the barren moors of Jutland with the goal of cultivating the land and achieving wealth and glory. However, he encounters opposition from the ruthless landowner, Frederik De Schinkel, which leads to an intense conflict.
Film critics worldwide praised the film and highlighted Mads Mikkelsen’s performance and the film’s epic scope following the world premiere in main competition at the Venice Film Festival in September. 

In addition to Venice, 'Promised Land’ has screened at several prominent festivals, including Telluride, Toronto and San Sebastian, and in September it was named Denmark's official Oscar submission. The Danish film critics has also been enthusiastic about the film when released theatrically in Danish cinemas. Director Nikolaj Arcel co-wrote the screenplay with Anders Thomas Jensen and Louise Vesth produced for Zentropa with support from the Danish Film Institute.

Apolonia, Apolonia 

'Apolonia, Apolonia' has been the center of international attention since its world premiere in the IDFA main competition where it won the main prize. Set against the backdrop of an anachronistic bohemian environment and the Parisian art academy, the film follows the personal and artistic development of young artist Apolonia Sokol over a period of 13 years - from the early nurturing of a young talent to her leap into the commercial art world. 

Lea Glob graduated as a documentary film director from the National Film School of Denmark in 2011, and 'Apolonia, Apolonia' is her first feature-length documentary as a solo director. Sidsel Lønvig Siersted has produced for Danish Documentary Production with support from the Danish Film Institute.

The Quiet Migration

19-year-old Carl lives in the countryside with his parents. His destiny is predetermined, as he is the only son destined to take over his parents' family farm and carry on the family's proud farming traditions. However, Carl wants something different. As an adopted child, he harbors a secret longing and dream of finding his rightful place and his own roots. Torn between two worlds - his "home" and his native South Korea - Carl must make a choice about where he belongs.

Malene Choi's feature debut received the International Critics' Award at the Berlin Film Festival's Panorama program in February after its world premiere and received great reviews domestically when the film was released theatrically in the Spring. Malene Choi co-wrote the screenplay with Sissel Dalsgaard Thomsen, who produced for Manna Film with support from the Danish Film Institute.

Previous Danish award winners at the European Film Awards


Jacob Neiiendam
Afdelingschef, International
Tlf. +45 2618 8865

In 2021, Jonas Poher Rasmussen's 'Flee' won three awards, including Best Documentary, while Thomas Vinterberg's 'Another Round' cleaned in 2020 with four awards on four nominations, including Best European Film, Best Director and Best Actor for Mads Mikkelsen. Previously, films such as ‘Land of Mine’, 'The Act of Killing' and 'Melancholia' have also won prominent awards at the ceremony. Find the full list of previous Danish award winners.

About European Film Awards

The annual prize event is organized by the European Film Academy, founded in 1988 with the purpose to encourage Europe's film culture.

Today, the Academy comprises more than 4,400 members from the European film community. In addition to the European Film Awards, the academy initiates seminars and workshops focusing on film topics within policymaking, economy, art and education.