Frederikke Aspöck, Denmark, 2023

95 min.DK/Feature

St. Croix, the Danish West Indies, the year is 1848. Anna Heegaard and Petrine are close friends. Both women are colored, but their living conditions are very different – Anna is free and owns the enslaved Petrine. Anna shares a prosperous life with the Danish Governor-General Peter von Scholten and depends entirely on her trusted housekeeper Petrine. Things are seemingly fine until rumors of a rebellion begin to swirl.
Basic information Credits Materials
Original title Viften
Danish title Viften
Director Frederikke Aspöck
Screenplay Anna Neye, Anna Neye
Producer Pernille Munk Skydsgaard, Nina Leidersdorff, Meta Louise Foldager Sørensen
Director of Photography Linda Wassberg
Editor Martin Schade
Sound Morten Groth Brandt
Composer Rasmus Bille Bähncke
Production designer Jette Lehmann
Casting Anja Philip, Clara Lykke Louw
Appearance Sara Fanta Traore, Anna Neye, Claus Riis Østergaard, Jesper Groth
Production country Denmark
Domestic distribution SF Studios
International sales REinvent Studios
Danish theatrical release 20.04.2023
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 11
Download PDF


Production company Meta Film
Executive Producer Meta Film Rights
Domestic distribution SF Studios


Direction Frederikke Aspöck
Casting Anja Philip
Casting Clara Lykke Louw
Casting: children Ayan Mouhoumed
1st assistant director Eigil Jacobsen
2nd assistant director Pablo Garcia
3rd assistant director Mahay Alayón
Extras coordinator Elena Báez


Script Anna Neye
Screenplay Anna Neye
Script consultant Lars C. Detlefsen


Producer Pernille Munk Skydsgaard
Producer Nina Leidersdorff
Producer Meta Louise Foldager Sørensen
Executive producer Michael Friedl
Executive producer Anna Neye
Executive producer Frederikke Aspöck
Executive producer Andreas Rostock
Co-producer Helena Danielsson
Junior producer Alexandra Meggle
Production manager Daniel Bohnhof
Service producer Endre Eldoy
Line producer Håvard Schei
Line producer Thomas Yong


Cinematographer Linda Wassberg
First assistant camera Ivan Molina Carmona
2nd assistant camera Dormas Rodriguez
DIT Montse Motril


Editor Martin Schade


Composer Rasmus Bille Bähncke

Production design

Production designer Jette Lehmann
Art director Jesper Clausen
Art director Alexis Domingo Santos


Costume designer Charlotte Moe
Costume designer Kirsten Zäschke


Chief makeup artist Jefrey Hernandez
Makeup artist Laura Sanchez
Hair and makeup designer Kirsten Zäschke
SFX makeup Kirsten Zäschke


Sound designer Morten Groth Brandt
Sound Anders Billing


Appearance Sara Fanta Traore
Anne Hedegaard Anna Neye
Appearance Claus Riis Østergaard
Appearance Jesper Groth

Download PDF