Kristian Håskjold, Denmark, 2021

23 min.DK/Short fiction

The teenage girl Pernille and her girlfriends Zarif and Tanne are all having a great time setting up for a party when Pernille suddenly discovers that a rumor has been spread that she’s had an abortion. Pernille denies the rumor and together the group of friends start slandering a girl called, Silke, who they think has started the rumor. Afraid to lose face, Pernille is quick to call out Silke at the party. However, when the group finds her, the situation quickly escalates out of control making Pernille give into the pressure, ultimately taking the revenge a step too far. Afterwards they all hope to leave the incident behind them, but Pernille is haunted by her actions, as well as a secret gnawing in the back of her mind, and in the end the weight of them both will turn out to be too much to bear.
Basic information Credits
Original title Young
Danish title Young
Director Kristian Håskjold
Screenplay Malthe Jagd Miehe-Renard
Producer Andreas Bak
Director of Photography Jesper Duelund
Editor Kristian Håskjold
Sound Christian Munk Scheuer
Composer Jesper Ankarfeldt
Production designer Eva Lendorph
Casting Astrid Faarup
Appearance Frieda Krøgholt, Mathilde Arcel Fock, Stran Ezgi Benli, Mathilde Schjelde
Production country Denmark
Download PDF


Production company Zentropa Productions2
With support from Filmworkshop Copenhagen, Super16, Nordisk Film, Zentropa


Direction Kristian Håskjold
Casting Astrid Faarup
1st assistant director Marie-Louise Damgaard
Continuity Amalie Egeberg
Extras coordinator Mark Butler


Idea Kristian Håskjold
Screenplay Malthe Jagd Miehe-Renard


Producer Andreas Bak
Line producer Mikkel Andreas Smidt
Production manager Stinna Lotus Nagel
Production manager Jacob Jayantha
Production assistant Jasmin Julie Ravesh
Production assistant Simon Kamp
Production assistant Anne Blomsgaard
Location manager Oliver Kjaersgaard


Cinematographer Jesper Duelund
First assistant camera Bertil Rosenkrands Mathiesen
First assistant camera Signe Edelboe Rasmussen
Steadicam Kim Jensen
Key grip Rasmus Ellegaard Nielsen
Low loader Andreas Winding
Gaffer Sebastian Lyding
Gaffer Lasse Gudmand-Høyer
Gaffer Felics Pedersen


Still photographer Yannick Wolff


Editor Kristian Håskjold
Assistant editor Lukas Westtoft
Avid technician Lárus Ren Gudbjörnsson
Log Johan Hedegaard


Composer Jesper Ankarfeldt
Music supervisor Kinneret Sarusie

Production design

Production designer Eva Lendorph
Set designer Alice Shurkalina
Set designer Naomi Ash-Collins


Costume designer Laura Gasbjerg
Costume assistant Minna Eline Mærsk


Hair and makeup artist Prasitha Cuptor


Sound designer Christian Munk Scheuer
Recording engineer Kristina Lilleskov Andersen
Recording engineer Nick Palsdorf
Foley artist Peter Seeba

Visual effects

Art work Frederik Plesner
Technical supervisor Simon Lytting
Colorist Hannibal Lang
VFX coordinator Camilla Strandskov
Conforming Søren Knudsen
VFX artist Emil Eriksson


Stunt supervisor Dennis Albrecthsen


Pernille Frieda Krøgholt
Tanne Mathilde Arcel Fock
Zarif Stran Ezgi Benli
Silke Mathilde Schjelde
Anton August Carter
Rasmus Noah Skovgaard Skands
Pernilles mor Maria Rich

Download PDF