The Commune to Toronto

FESTIVAL. Thomas Vinterberg's Silver Bear winner "The Commune" will be screening as a Special Presentation at the 41st Toronto Film Festival, running 8-18 September.

"The Commune" made its international premiere in competition at the Berlinale 2016, where Trine Dyrholm won the Silver Bear for Best Actress. Now Thomas Vinterberg's drama is off to the Toronto Film Festival, where it will be screening in the Special Presentation section.

"The Commune" tells a story about the clash between personal desires versus solidarity and tolerance in a commune in the '70s.

Trine Dyrholm and Ulrich Thomsen play Anna and Erik, an academic couple who, with their daughter Freja, set up a commune in a huge villa north of Copenhagen. With the family at the centre of the story, we are invited into their dream of a real commune, participating in the house meetings, the dinners and parties. There is friendship, love and togetherness under one roof, until an earth-shattering love affair puts the small community to its greatest test.

"This is no longer my or my parents' story, but it mirrors an atmosphere of my childhood and I hope it's loyal to it," says Thomas Vinterberg in Wendy Mitchell's interview, Memories of Love and Togetherness.

The film is written by Thomas Vinterberg and Tobias Lindholm who also wrote Vinterberg's previous films "Submarino" (2010) and "The Hunt" (Oscar nomination, 2012) together. Sisse Graum Jørgensen and Morten Kaufmann have produced for Zentropa in co-operation with Toolbox Film. The film has received support from the Danish Film Institute, among other backers.

"The Commune" has been seen by more than 300,000 cinemagoers in Denmark since its domestic release in January and has sold to a great number of European countries as well as other territories such as China, Korea, Russia and Brazil. Trustnordisk handles international sales.

The Toronto Film Festival will be announcing more films for this year's lineup in the coming weeks.

Toronto International Film Festival 8-18 September 2016