Danish premieres in San Sebastián

FESTIVAL. Katrine Brocks' debut feature 'The Great Silence', Frelle Petersen's 'Forever' and Hlynur Pálmason's 'Godland' are part of the line-up at San Sebastián Film Festival, starting 16 September.

Three Danish feature films and one short film are part of the line-up at the Sebastián Film Festival (16-24 September), one of Europe's most prominent film festivals after Cannes, Berlin and Venice.

Katrine Brock's feature film debut 'The Great Silence' will be world premiering in the New Directors competition. The film's domestic release is set for 12 January.

Frelle Petersen's drama 'Forever' will be running in Competition, celebratíng its international premiere at the festival. The Danish premiere was in July.

Finally, Hlynur Pálmason's historical drama 'Godland' and his short film 'Nest' are screening in the Zabaltegi-Tabakalera section, which embraces innovative films regardless of format. 'Godland' world premiered at the Cannes Festival in Un Certain Regard and has been selected for Telluride and Toronto.

Competition for new technology

The Zinemaldia Startup Challenge is the festival's competition for entrepreneurs and startups that present innovative projects and technologies for the audiovisual field.

The Danish company Copenhagen Industries participates with the project 'Violette', an alternative to real weapons in film productions. Founders Søren Haraldsted and Daniel Karpantschof have since 2017 been working on their dummy which behaves like a real firearm, but is nevertheless completely safe.

Members of the Official Jury

Tea Lindeburg, who last year received the award as best director for her debut film 'As in Heaven', joins the Official Jury together with Hlynur Pálmason.

In addition, producer Katrin Pors from Snowglobe participates in the jury of the Europe-Latin America Co-Production Forum.

Danish films and filmmakers in San Sebastián 2022

New Directors

  • The Great Silence by Katrine Brocks, who has written the script with Marianne Lentz. Produced by Pernille Tornøe for Monolit Film. World premiere.

Official Selection

  • Forever written and directed by Frelle Petersen. Produced by Jonas Bagger for Zentropa. International premiere.


  • Godland written and directed by Hlynur Pálmason. Produced by Katrin Pors, Eva Jakobsen and Mikkel Jersin for Snowglobe.
  • Nest (short film) written and directed by Hlynur Pálmason. Produced by Katrin Pors, Eva Jakobsen and Mikkel Jersin for Snowglobe.

Zinemaldia Startup Challenge

  • Violette presented by Copenhagen Industries and founders Søren Haraldsted and Daniel Karpantschof.

Jury members

  • Tea Lindeburg / Official Jury
  • Hlynur Pálmason / Official Jury
  • Katrin Pors / Europe-Latin America Co-Production Forum

San Sebastián Film Festival

In 2021, Tea Lindeburg's feature debut 'As in Heaven' won two Silver Shells – for Best Director to Lindeburg and for Best Leading Performance (shared with Jessica Chastain) to Flora Ofelia Hofmann Lindahl, respectively.

In 2020, Mads Mikkelsen, Thomas Bo Larsen, Magnus Millang and Lars Ranthe shared the Best Actor award for their performance in Thomas Vinterberg's 'Another Round'. The film also received the Feroz Zinemaldia award given by the Spanish press as well as the Signis Award from the Catholic Film Organisation.

The San Sebastián Film Festival runs this year from 16 to 24 September.