The Day Will Come and Parents lead Robert Awards 2017

AWARDS. "The Day Will Come" by Jesper W. Nielsen about two boys' rebellion against a tyrannical headmaster was named Best Danish Film at the Danish Film Academy's Robert Awards on Saturday. Winner of the Best Director prize was Christian Tafdrup for his debut film "Parents."

Jesper W. Nielsen's "The Day Will Come" was top scorer at the Robert Awards, one of Danish cinema's most distinguished annual prize events, which was held Saturday, 4 February, in Copenhagen.

The film, a drama set in the '60s about two brothers' rebellion against the tyranny in a boys' home forgotten by time, received a total of six awards, including Best Danish Film and Best Original Script.

Christian Tafdrup's debut film "Parents," about a middle-aged couple reliving their youthful years in surprising ways, took home three awards – for Best Director, Best Actor (Søren Malling) and Best Editor (Anne Østerud, Tanya Fallenius). Also in the spotlight was Trine Dyrholm, who won the title of Best Actress for her performance in Thomas Vinterberg's "The Commune," based on the director's childhood in the '70s.

Winner of Best Documentary was Sine Skibsholt's "Who We Were," about a couple struggling with a life crisis, adding the accolade to the top documentary prize the film received at January's national TV awards and to the First Appearance Award at IDFA 2016.

The Robert Awards are organised by the Danish Film Academy, whose members are made up by film industry professionals. See the full list of winners below.

Robert Awards / Winners 2017

Best Danish Film

  • The Day Will Come / dir. Jesper W. Nielsen / prod. Sisse Graum Jørgensen, Peter Aalbæk Jensen, Louise Vesth for Zentropa

Best Children & Youth Film

  • In the Blood / dir. Rasmus Heisterberg / prod. Caroline Schlüter Bingestam for Profile Pictures

Best Director

  • Christian Tafdrup (Parents)

Best Original Script

  • Søren Sveistrup (The Day Will Come)

Best Adapted Script

  • Thomas Vinterberg & Tobias Lindholm (The Commune)

Best Actress

  • Trine Dyrholm (The Commune)

Best Actor

  • Søren Malling (Parents)

Best Supporting Actress

  • Sofie Gråbøl (The Day Will Come)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Lars Mikkelsen (The Day Will Come)

Best Production Designer

  • Sabine Hviid (The Day Will Come)

Best Cinematographer

  • Natasha Braier (The Neon Demon)

Best Costume Designer

  • Stine Thaning (The Day Will Come)

Best Make-up Artist

  • Erin Ayanian Monroe (The Neon Demon)

Best Editor

  • Anne Østerud, Tanya Fallenius (Parents)

Best Sound Designer

  • Eddie Simonsen, Anne Jensen (The Neon Demon)

Best Score

  • Cliff Martinez (The Neon Demon)

Best Original Song

  • 100 Meter Mind Dash (Shelley)

Best Visual Effects

  • Peter Hjorth (The Neon Demon)

Best Short Fiction – Animation

  • Sia / National Film School of Denmark / prod. Caroline Eybye / dir. Annika Berg

Best Documentary

  • Who We Were / dir. Sine Skibsholt / prod. Helle Faber for Made in Copenhagen

Best American Film

  • The Revenant / dir. Alejandro González Iñárritu

Best Non-American Film

  • Son of Saul (László Nemes)

Best Short TV Series

  • Ditte & Louise II / DR Drama / dir. Niclas Bendixen / writers: Ditte Hansen, Louise Mieritz

Best Long TV Series

  • Follow the Money / DR / dir. Per Fly / writer: Jeppe Gjervig Gram

Best Actress – TV-series

  • Louise Mieritz (Ditte & Louise II)

Best Actor – TV Series

  • Thomas Bo Larsen (Follow the Money)

Best Supporting Actress – TV Series

  • Bodil Jørgensen (Rytteriets jul)

Best Supporting Actor – TV Series

  • Esben Smed (Follow the Money)

Blockbuster Audience Award

  • One-Two-Three Now! / dir. Barbara Topsøe-Rothenborg / prod. Regner Grasten Film for Regner Grasten Filmproduktion

The Danish Directors' Ib Award

  • Producer Jacob Jarek

Honorary Robert

  • Grip Jimmy Leavens

The Kathrine Windfeld Award

  • Writer Mette Heeno

Danish Film Academy