Winter Brothers nominated for the Nordic Council Film Prize

NOMINATION. Hlynur Pálmason's debut feature 'Winter Brothers' is one of the five nominees for the Nordic Council Film Prize 2018. The winner will be announced on 30 October.

'Winter Brothers,' depicting the increasing tension between two brothers working in a desolate limestone factory, is announced as one of the five candidates for the Nordic Council Film Prize 2018. 

Pálmason invites us on an excursion, but has no free tickets – the audience is the co-writer of a journey of discovery to an unknown land.

- The jury about 'Winter Brothers'

The nomination goes collectively to director and scriptwriter Hlynur Pálmason and the film's three producers, Julie Waltersdorph Hansen and Per Damgaard Hansen from Masterplan Pictures and Anton Máni Svansson from Icelandic Join Motion Pictures.

'Winter Brothers' will be in competition with 'Euthanizer' by Teemu Nikki (Finland), 'Woman at War' by Benedikt Erlingsson (Iceland), 'Thelma' by Joachim Trier (Norway) and 'Ravens' by Jens Assur (Sweden). The winner will be announced on 30 October during the Nordic Council Session in Oslo, Norway.

"A breath of fresh air"

Each of the five films is elected by a national jury. From Denmark, film critics Per Juul Carlsen, Jacob Wendt Jensen and Eva Novrup Redvall motivate their choice of 'Winter Brothers:'

"In a time when the film industry is characterised by conformity and secure solutions, 'Winter Brothers' is something of a breath of fresh air. Director Hlynur Pálmason experiments with strange image combinations and discomforting soundscapes, and although 'Winter Brothers' tells a story of some kind, the experience is based on sensations, associations, and dream interpretations. What do we do with a story about two brothers working on a lime mill in a bleak winter landscape? That’s up to us. Pálmason invites us on an excursion, but has no free tickets – the audience is the co-writer of a journey of discovery to an unknown land."

'Winter Brothers' has received several international accolades and is sold for distribution in a number of major territories such as the US, England and France. It was named Best Film at Denmark's two distinguished Robert and Bodil prize events and scored the main prize at CPH PIX.

Icelandic-born Pálmason, who graduated from the National Film School of Denmark in 2013, was earlier this year granted the Dreyer Award for his film, an annual award given to a promising new talent in Danish cinema.

'Winter Brothers' was produced with support from the Danish Film Institute's talent programme New Danish Screen.

Read press release from Nordisk Film & TV Fond.

About the Nordic Council Film Prize

The purpose of the prize is to raise interest in the Nordic film community and to recognise outstanding artistic achievements. The selection is based on the film's artistic quality and originality and the way it combines the aesthetic elements into a compelling work of art in Nordic culture.  

The DKK 350,000 prize (EUR 47,000) is shared equally among the screenwriter, director and producer, underscoring how film as an art form is the result of a collective endeavour.

Previous Danish winners are 'The Hunt' and 'Submarino' by Thomas Vinterberg (2013 and 2010), 'Antichrist' by Lars von Trier (2009), 'The Art of Crying' by Peter Schønau Fog (2007) and 'Manslaughter' by Per Fly (2005).

All previous winners

Selma Vilhunen for 'Little Wing' (2017), Joachim Trier for 'Louder Than Bombs' (2016), Dagur Kári for 'Virgin Mountain' (2015), Benedikt Erlingsson for 'Of Horses and Men' (2014), Thomas Vinterberg for 'The Hunt' (2013), Ruben Östlund for 'Play' (2012), Pernilla August for 'Beyond' (2011), Thomas Vinterberg for 'Submarino' (2010), Lars von Trier for 'Antichrist' (2009), Roy Andersson for 'You, the Living' (2008), Peter Schønau Fog for 'The Art of Crying' (2007), Josef Fares for 'Zozo' (2006), Per Fly for 'Manslaughter' (2005) and Aki Kaurismäki for 'The Man without a Past' (2002).