The Shift

Amalie Maria Nielsen, Denmark, 2022

18 min.DK/Short fictionFilm school films

Milo lives at a home for young, angry, maladjusted girls where the employee Nicki is the only one who observes her gender transition and therefore her closest relation. But behind the thin walls of the institution the rumors swirl between the girls and one day Milo hears something she wishes she hadn’t.
Basic information Credits
Original title Sværddrage
Danish title Sværddrage
Director Amalie Maria Nielsen
Screenplay Oscar Anker Wiedemann, Amalie Maria Nielsen
Producer Emma Lind
Director of Photography Lina Elvekjær Biehl
Editor Laura Andrea Friis-Rasmussen
Sound Patrick Svaneberg Vejen
Composer Patrick Svaneberg Vejen, Sebastian David Boldsen
Production designer Ronja Hage Tange, Otto Juel Grumme
Casting Anna Hoffmann
Appearance Anna Charlie Zerbib Streitz, Niklas Herskind, Petrine Agger, Isabella Møller Hansen
Production country Denmark
Download PDF


Production company 18Frames


Direction Amalie Maria Nielsen
Casting Anna Hoffmann
1st assistant director Ditte Marie Pedersen
1st assistant director Henrik Danielsen


Screenplay Oscar Anker Wiedemann
Screenplay Amalie Maria Nielsen


Producer Emma Lind
Production manager Signe Broge
Production coordinator Magnus Adrian


Cinematographer Lina Elvekjær Biehl
First assistant camera Thomas Elmue Gregersen
2nd assistant camera August Block Overgaard
Camera assistant Emil Pedersen
Steadicam operator Lars Nørlund
DIT Peter Bjerggaard

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Birk Kromann
Best boy Agnes Marie Kristiansen


Editor Laura Andrea Friis-Rasmussen


Composer Patrick Svaneberg Vejen
Composer Sebastian David Boldsen

Production design

Production designer Ronja Hage Tange
Production designer Otto Juel Grumme
Set decorator Sally Moreno Risell
Assistant set dresser Marie Elbæk Thomsen


Costume designer Victoria Morabbi


Sound engineer Patrick Svaneberg Vejen
Boom operator Jakob Jeremy Brink

Visual effects

Colorist Olesya Kireeva
Graphic design Alexander Foersom
VFX supervisor Lucas Lindvig


Milo Anna Charlie Zerbib Streitz
Nicki Niklas Herskind
Birgit Petrine Agger
Nadja Isabella Møller Hansen

Download PDF