'Flee' wins at European Film Awards

AWARDS. Jonas Poher Rasmussen's 'Flee' received top prizes at the European Film Awards, celebrating the best of European cinema. The ceremony broadcast live from Berlin also applauded director Susanne Bier for her contribution to European cinema.

Jonas Poher Rasmussen's animated documentary 'Flee' won two awards, out of two nominations, at the European Film Awards (EFA), held Saturday as a live event broadcast from Berlin:

European Documentary and European Animated Feature Film – adding to the European University Film Award (EUFA) announced earlier this week.

'Flee' was also revealed as one of the three nominees for the Lux European Audience Film Award, with the winner to be announced in June.

Jonas Poher Rasmussen's story about his friend Amin, who for the first time reveals the story of his escape from Afghanistan to Denmark 25 years ago, recently won the Nordic Council Film Prize and was picked in October as Denmark's Oscar entry.

During the EFA ceremony, Danish director Susanne Bier was honoured with the honorary European Achievement in World Cinema Award for her distinguished international career. Peter Hjorth received an Excellence Award for his VFX work (with Sweden's Fredrik Nord) on 'Lamb' from Iceland.

Previous Danish winners

At the European Film Awards 2020, Thomas Vinterberg's 'Another Round' took home four awards out of four nominations, including for best director and best film. Find the full view of previous Danish winners.

European Film Awards

The annual prize event is organised by the European Film Academy, founded in 1988 with the purpose to encourage Europe's film culture.

Today, the Academy comprises more than 4,200 members from the European film community. In addition to the European Film Awards, the academy initiates seminars and workshops focusing on film topics within policymaking, economy, art and education.

Read more at europeanfilmawards.eu