Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Denmark, 2021

89 min.DK/DocumentaryAnimation

An animated documentary telling the true story about a man’s need to confront his past in order to truly have a future. Amin arrived as an unaccompanied minor in Denmark from Afghanistan. Today, at 36, he is a successful academic and is getting married to his long-time boyfriend. A secret he has been hiding for over 20 years threatens to ruin the life he has built for himself. For the first time, he is sharing his story with his close friend.
Basic information Credits
Original title Flugt
Danish title Flugt
Keywords Afghanistan, Afghan refugees, Russia, Refugees, Refugee Children, Homosexuality, Denmark, 2020-2030
Director Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Screenplay Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Producer Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Charlotte de La Gournerie
Editor Janus Billeskov Jansen
Composer Uno Helmersson
Casting Gro Terp
Production country Denmark
Domestic distribution Reel Pictures
International sales Cinephil - Philippa Kowarsky Production Ltd.
Danish theatrical release 17.06.2021
Online release 11.02.2022, Filmcentralen
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 15
Download PDF


Production company Final Cut for Real ApS
Co-production Sun Creature Studio, Vivement Lundi, MostFilms, Mer Film, ARTE France, VPRO - Television
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut, Copenhagen Film Fund, Svenska Filminstitutet, Norsk Filminstitutt, Nordisk Film & TV Fond, Den Vestdanske Filmpulje, MEDIA (EU), Région Bretagne, Pictanovo, CNC, Procirep, Angoa
Domestic distribution Reel Pictures


Direction Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Director: animation Kenneth Ladekjær
Casting Gro Terp


Screenplay Jonas Poher Rasmussen
Script consultant Eskil Vogt
Script consultant Rasmus Heisterberg
Storyboard supervisor Kenneth Ladekjær
Storyboard Mads Juul


Producer Monica Hellström
Producer Signe Byrge Sørensen
Producer Charlotte de La Gournerie
Co-producer Jean-François Le Corre
Co-producer Mathieu Courtois
Co-producer Charlotte Most
Co-producer Maria Ekerhovd
Executive producer Philippa Kowarsky
Line producer Charlotte Sanchez
Line producer Tanguy Olivier
Production manager Danaï Katopodi
Production manager Maria Kristensen
Production manager Esther Nissen
Production manager Maja Riis
Production manager Thomas Fenger
Production assistant Christine Snitkjaer


Editor Janus Billeskov Jansen


Composer Uno Helmersson

Production design

Art director Jessica Nicholls


Concept artist Arnaud Tribout
Design Simon Lee
Character design Mikkel Sommer
Character design Kenneth Ladekjær
Prop designer Birk von Brockdorff Pedersen

Download PDF