Winter Brothers Wins Best Film at Robert Awards

AWARDS. Hlynur Pálmason's debut feature 'Winter Brothers' took home nine statuettes at the Danish Robert Awards celebrating the best of 2017 in Danish film and television. Also among the evening's winners were the drama 'A Horrible Woman,' the children's animation 'The Incredible Story of the Giant Pear' and the documentary 'Last Men in Aleppo.'

Winter Brothers' dominated the Robert Awards, the Danish Film Academy's annual film and television prize event which took place Sunday, 4 February, in Copenhagen.

Among the film's nine wins was the title as Best Danish Film, and Hlynur Pálmason won the award as Best Director, while Elliott Crosset Hove and Victoria Carmen Sonne were honoured as Best Actor and Best Supporting Actress, respectively. The drama about two brothers working in a limestone factory premiered at Locarno Film Festival last August, where Crosset Hove received the Best Actor award.

Christian Tafdrup's 'A Horrible Woman,' exploring the theme of women in modern relationships as seen through the eyes of a man, was honoured with Best Original Script to Christian Tafdrup and Mads Tafdrup and Best Actress to Amanda Collin.

Named Best Children & Youth Film was Philip Einstein Lipski, Jørgen Lerdam and Amalie Næsby Fick's 'The Incredible Story of the Giant Pear.' The animation film about two friends embarking on a maritime adventure in their two-storeyed pear also took home the award for Best Adapted Script. The film will be opening the Generation Kplus competition at the Berlinale 2018.

'Last Men in Aleppo,' Feras Fayyad's Oscar-nominated close-up of the White Helmets rescue workers, received the Best Documentary award, and the awards in television drama went mainly to national broadcaster DR's 'Ride Upon the Storm' and 'The Legacy III.'

This year's Honorary Robert was given to Tivi Magnusson for his long-standing career as a film producer in Danish film and as co-founder of the Danish Film Academy.

See more at

Robert Awards / Winners 2018

Best Danish Feature Film

  • Winter Brothers / Masterplan Pictures / producers Julie Waltersdorph, Per Damgaard Hansen / director Hlynur Pálmason

Best Children & Youth Film

  • The Incredible Story of the Giant Pear / Nordisk Film / producers Thomas Heinesen, Trine Heidegaard / directors Philip Einstein Lipski, Amalie Næsby Fick, Jørgen Lerdam

Best Director

  • Hlynur Pálmason / Winter Brothers

Best Original Script

  • Christian Tafdrup, Mads Tafdrup / A Horrible Woman

Best Adapted Script

  • Philip Einstein Lipski, Amalie Næsby Fick, Bo Hr. Hansen / The Incredible Story of the Giant Pear

Best Actress

  • Amanda Collin / A Horrible Woman

Best Actor

  • Elliott Crosset Hove / Winter Brothers

Best Supporting Actress

  • Victoria Carmen Sonne / Winter Brothers

Best Supporting Actor

  • Jakob Oftebro / The Man

Best Production Desginer

  • Gustav Pontoppidan / Winter Brothers

Best Cinematographer

  • Maria von Hausswolff / Winter Brothers

Best Costume Designer

  • Nina Grønlund / Winter Brothers

Best Make-up Artist

  • Katrine Tersgov / Winter Brothers

Best Editor

  • Kasper Leick / Darkland

Best Sound Designer

  • Lars Halvorsen / Winter Brothers

Best Score

  • Jens Ole Wowk McCoy / Darkland

Best Original Song

  • 'I Don’t Know How to Get in Your Heart' / The Man

Best Visual Effects

  • Martin Madsen / Man Divided

Best Short Film / Animation

  • Silent Nights / M&M Productions / producers Kim Magnusson, Tivi Magnusson / director Aske Bang

Best Short Film / Documentary

  • Weltschmerz / National Film School of Denmark / producer Niclas Caroc Warner / director Jesper Dalgaard

Best Documentary

  • Last Men in Aleppo / Larm Film, Aleppo Media Center, Kloos & Co. Medien / producers Søren Steen Jespersen, Kareem Abeed, Stefan Kloos / director Feras Fayyad

Best American Film

  • Manchester by the Sea / director Kenneth Lonergan

Best Non-American Film

  • The Square / director Ruben Östlund

Best Short TV Series

  • Tinka's Christmas Tale / Cosmo Film / producer Rasmus Kastberg / writer Flemming Klem / director Mogens Hagedorn

Best Long TV Series

  • Ride Upon the Storm / DR Drama / producer Camilla Hammerich / writer Adam Price / director Kaspar Munk

Best Actress / TV Series

  • Ann Eleonora Jørgensen / Ride Upon the Storm

Best Actor / TV Series

  • Lars Mikkelsen / Ride Upon the Storm

Best Supporting Actress / TV Series

  • Lene Maria Christensen / The Legacy III

Best Supporting Actor / TV Series

  • Mikkel Boe Følsgaard / The Legacy III

Honorary Robert

  • Producer Tivi Magnusson

Danish Directors' Ib Award

  • Producer Katja Adomeit

Blockbuster Audience Award

  • Three Heists and a Hamster / director Rasmus Heide