Follow You Home

Kathrine Ravn Kruse, Denmark, 2021

75 min.DK/Documentary

For nine years the Afghan refugee brothers Popal and Darmal have been apart but are now miraculously reunited in Denmark. But they are in completely different places in their lives. Popal is a fighter with lots of plans for his future. Darmal, on the other hand, has just arrived in Denmark, with a heavy heart and lots of insecurities about the future. As Darmal’s asylum claim is rejected, their dreams about a future together collapse. With a caring priest couple and a human right’s lawyer, Popal does everything in his power to keep Darmal on his feet. With sibling love as its main driving force the film is a film about a brother’s fight not to lose his little brother once again.
Basic information Credits
Original title Min bror, mit hjem
Danish title Min bror, mit hjem
Keywords Brothers, Afghanistan, Denmark, Refugees, Asylum applicants, Afghan refugees
Director Kathrine Ravn Kruse
Screenplay Kathrine Ravn Kruse
Producer Mathilde Hvid Lippmann
Director of Photography Simon Dixgaard, Kathrine Ravn Kruse
Editor Signe Rebekka Kaufmann
Sound Sune Kaarsberg, Michael Thorup
Composer Martin Juel Dirkov, Ofek Tal
Production country Denmark
International sales Made in Copenhagen ApS
Online release 15.09.2021, Filmcentralen
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte
Danish rating Not recommended for children under 7
Download PDF


Production company
Executive Producer Made in Copenhagen ApS
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut, DR, Creative Europe, Danske Filminstruktører, Dansk Journalistforbund, FAF, Blockbuster Films


Direction Kathrine Ravn Kruse
Assistant director Simon Dixgaard


Screenplay Kathrine Ravn Kruse


Producer Mathilde Hvid Lippmann
Production manager Henriette Kræmer
Executive producer Helle Faber
Production assistant Karoline Ellekær Bisgaard
Production assistant Anna Ofelia Ørum Borregaard
Production assistant Niels Constantin Brun Ejlers
Production coordinator Niels Constantin Brun Ejlers
Production assistant Jens Malthe Næsby


Cinematographer Simon Dixgaard
Cinematographer Kathrine Ravn Kruse
Underwater cinematographer Anders von Holck
First assistant camera Simon Kjær Christiansen
First assistant camera Gustav Meiling
First assistant camera Kristoffer Kofod
Camera assistant Kristian Kjer Mygenfordt
Key grip Philip Cooke

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Lasse Gudmand-Høyer
Assistant lighting technician Oscar Wad


Editor Signe Rebekka Kaufmann
Assistant editor Karoline Ellekær Bisgaard
Assistant editor Anna Ofelia Ørum Borregaard
Assistant editor Niels Constantin Brun Ejlers
Editor: development Anna Heide


Composer Martin Juel Dirkov
Composer Ofek Tal


Sound designer Sune Kaarsberg
Sound design assistant Anders Ankerstjerne
Sound designer Michael Thorup

Visual effects

Graphic design Silke Brandes
Online Adam Bendixen
Colorist Anders V. Christensen
Assistant colorgrader Maria Klarlund


Safety diver Mads Hermansen

Download PDF