The Food Club

98 min.DK/Feature

The three girlfriends Vanja, Marie and Berling, who have known each other since high school, travel to southern Italy on a cooking class trip. Three women, all in the autumn of their lives and having troubles of their own. Marie's husband left her on Christmas Eve, Berling is the eternal single who denies her age and is living the sweet life, while Vanja lives in the memories of her late husband. The journey doesn't turn out at all as expected, and the warm southern nights offer flirtation, jealousy and inconvenient truths. Finally, however, the three women discover that they have far more to offer than they had ever dreamed and that it's never too late.
Basic information Credits Materials
Original title Madklubben
Danish title Madklubben
Director Barbara Topsøe-Rothenborg
Screenplay Anne-Marie Olesen Thinghuus
Producer Nina Lyng, Eva Juel Hammerich
Director of Photography Mattias Troelstrup
Editor Lars Wissing
Sound Kristian Selin Eidnes Andersen, Thomas Jæger
Production designer Eleonora Devitofrancesco, Anja Wessel
Casting Karin Jagd
Appearance Kirsten Olesen, Kirsten Lehfeldt, Stina Ekblad, Troels Lyby
Production country Denmark
Danish audio description Yes
Domestic distribution SF Studios
International sales LevelK
Danish theatrical release 22.10.2020
Comment Third feature film by Barbara Topsøe-Rothenborg, after 'The First Time' (2010) and 'One-Two-Three Now!' (2016).
DFI subsidy Markedsordningen
Danish rating Not recommended for children under 7
Download PDF


Production company Nepenthe Film
With support from Regione Puglia, PO Puglia, Cinema Audiovisivo, European Union, Apulia Film Commision, Det Danske Filminstitut, SF Studios, LevelK ApS, Apulia Film Fund, Italian Tax Credit, FilmFyn, First Lady Film, Puglia Promozione
In collaboration with Lume Film
Domestic distribution SF Studios


Direction Barbara Topsøe-Rothenborg
Continuity Mathilde Dahl
1st assistant director Thomas Petersen
1st assistant director Jacob Thomas Pilgaard
1st assistant director: Italy Paolo G. Marino
Casting Karin Jagd
Casting: Italy Marialaura Papa
Casting: Italy Azzurra Martino
Casting assistant Astrid Faarup
Extras coordinator Linette Lindharth


Screenplay Anne-Marie Olesen Thinghuus
Story Nina Lyng
Story Barbara Topsøe-Rothenborg
Story Anne-Marie Olesen Thinghuus
Additional writing Barbara Topsøe-Rothenborg
Script consultant Rasmus Horskjær
Script consultant Iben Gylling
Script consultant Pia Konstantin Berg
Script consultant Paola Papa
Script consultant Azzurra Lanzillotti
Translation Elisabeth Lazebnic
Translation Nick Oakman


Line producer Davide Scalia
Executive producer Adriano Bassi
Executive producer Lara Calligaro
Executive producer Tine Klint
Executive producer Nina Lyng
Executive producer Eva Juel Hammerich
Executive producer Barbara Topsøe-Rothenborg
Executive producer Nynne Selin Eidnes
Co-producer Adriano Bassi
Co-producer Lara Calligaro
Producer Nina Lyng
Producer Eva Juel Hammerich
Production manager Sune Wahl
Production manager: Italy Andrea Tavani
Production coordinator Trine Nadia
Production assistant Jacob Jayantha
Location scout Anne Magnér
Location scout and manager Leonardo Angelini
Location manager Kenny Duerlund
Location manager: Italy Federica Nardelli
Post Producer Malou Bækgaard Jakobsen
Post Producer Gitte Wahl
Post-producton coordinator Aksel Leth


Cinematographer Mattias Troelstrup
First assistant camera Peter Topsøe-Jensen
Camera assistant Mark Newman
Steadicam Anders Elgaard
Drone operator Benjamin Mathiesen
Drone operator Kasper "Ko" Lyngsie
Additional camera operator Simon Takatomi
Key grip Rune A. Egegaard
DIT Rasmus Wittrup
DIT Victor Mathiesen

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Niclas Fusager
Best boy Allan Rune Køldal
Assistant lighting technician Oscar Wad
Assistant lighting technician Emil Toft


Editor Lars Wissing
Avid supervisor Victor Mathiesen
Trailer editor Lars Wissing


Music Kristian Selin Eidnes Andersen
Music Rasmus Christensen
Music supervisor Mikkel Maltha

Production design

Production designer Eleonora Devitofrancesco
Production designer Anja Wessel
Property master Trine Weber Sundstrup
Assistant set dresser Frej Kolath Jensen
Assistant set dresser Lise Søllested


Costume designer Soraya Alaydrus
Costume assistant Lisbet Mikkelsen
Costume assistant Fredericke Carmen Kellberg


Makeup artist Soraya Alaydrus
Stylist Radu Istudor
Makeup artist Vibeke Henningsen
Makeup assistant Ulla Asbjørn Damsted


Sound designer Kristian Selin Eidnes Andersen
Sound designer Thomas Jæger
Recording engineer Christian Lund
Boom operator Kasper Munck-Hansen
Sound technician Kristian Selin Eidnes Andersen
Sound assistant Patrick Svaneberg Vejen
Sound assistant Marie Dollerup-Nielsen
Sound assistant Jason Lee Cameron
Foley artist Julien Naudin
Foley recordist Patrick Ghislain
Foley mixer Rasmus Mølberg Meyer

Visual effects

Conforming Peter Steincke
Colourist Lasse Selvli
Colourist Thomas Therchilsen
Flame artist Lasse Selvli
VFX supervisor Martin Madsen
VFX artist Asger Peder Mortensen
Graphic design Lars Wissing
Graphic design Lasse Selvli
Poster artwork Danni Riddertoft
Visual Design Pia Konstantin Berg


Safety diver Mette Obsen


Marie Kirsten Olesen
Vanja Kirsten Lehfeldt
Berling Stina Ekblad
Jacob Troels Lyby
Mette Mia Lyhne
Morten Rasmus Botoft
Alessandro Mechele Venitucci
Henrik Peter Hesse Overgaard
Jette/"Havenissen" Judith Rothenborg
Federica Ivana Pantaleo
Niels Jesper Dupont
Lars Anders Cornelius Zoffmann
Julie Katrine Bæk
Joachim Malte Frid-Nielsen
Josephine Nadia Jasmin Nielsen
Mie Louise Davidsen
Mathilde Andrea Alma Øst Birkkjær
Manuela Grazia Daddario
Alessandros søn Nicolo Pietraroscia
Aleesandros søn Christian Pietraroscia
Ornella Christelle Fich
Unge Marie Karoline Hamm
Unge Vanja Frederikke Dencker Rasmussen
Unge Berling Daniella Schwerdfeger
Tjener Danmark Kenny Duerlund
Shop assistant Teresa Fiorentio
Masseur Giampaolo Morelli

Download PDF