It’s Not Over Yet

Louise Detlefsen, Denmark, 2021

95 min.DK/Documentary

At the small retirement home Dagmarsminde, the founding nurse May Bjerre Eiby has no interest in specific dementia diagnoses or medicine, since neither is improving the quality of life for the 11 residents. Instead, May and her staff have developed a new kind of treatment inspired by the methods that Florence Nightingale introduced 150 years ago. May has named it 'care treatment': hugs, touch, talking, humour, eye contact and the joy of community is the prescription. The goal is to inspire a complete change in the way people with dementia are treated in the healthcare system, shifting from medicine to care.
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Original title Det er ikke slut endnu
Danish title Det er ikke slut endnu
Keywords Senior citizens home, Senior citizens, Elderly care, Dementia, Demented, Care, Treatment, 2020-2030
Director Louise Detlefsen
Screenplay Louise Detlefsen
Producer Malene Flindt Pedersen
Director of Photography Per Fredrik Skiöld
Editor Julie Winding, Jakob Juul Toldam
Sound Rasmus Winther, Maximillian Pontgratz
Composer Jonas Colstrup
Appearance May Bjerre Eiby
Production country Denmark
Production company Hansen & Pedersen
International sales First Hand Films World Sales
Danish theatrical release 22.09.2021
Online release 17.01.2022, Filmcentralen
Comment Louise Detlefsen is a journalist by trade and has worked with both documentary and fiction. Her films include the IDFA selected title 'Fat Front' (2019), 'The Queen of Hearts' (2018) and 'A Damn Year' (2012).
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte
Danish rating Not recommended for children under 7
Download PDF


Production company Hansen & Pedersen
Co-production Neue Celluloid Fabrik
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut, Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung, Eurimages, Nordisk Film & TV Fond, SVT, RÚV, VGTV


Direction Louise Detlefsen


Screenplay Louise Detlefsen


Producer Malene Flindt Pedersen
Junior producer Signe Skov Thomsen
Co-producer Jürgen Kleinung


Cinematographer Per Fredrik Skiöld


Editor Julie Winding
Editor Jakob Juul Toldam


Composer Jonas Colstrup


Sound designer Rasmus Winther
Sound designer Maximillian Pontgratz

Visual effects

Colourist Kay Dombrowsky


Appearance May Bjerre Eiby

Download PDF

Festival screenings

Download PDF
Festival Festival date
Bergen International Film festival 2021-10-20
Durham, Full Frame 2021-06-02
Toronto, Hot Docs Int. Documentary Festival 2021-04-29
Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.