The Pact

Bille August, Denmark, 2021

115 min.DK/Feature

Aged 63 Karen Blixen is at the pinnacle of her fame and next in line to win the Nobel Prize for literature. It has been 17 years since she gave up her famous farm in Africa only to return to Denmark with her life in ruins. Devastated by syphilis and having lost the love of her life she has reinvented herself as a literary sensation. She is an isolated genius, however, until the day she meets a talented 30-year-old poet. She promises him literary stardom if he in return will obey her unconditionally – even at the cost of him losing everything else in his life…
Basic information Credits Materials
Original title Pagten
Danish title Pagten
Director Bille August
Screenplay Christian Torpe
Producer Jesper Morthorst, Karin Trolle
Director of Photography Manuel Alberto Claro
Editor Janus Billeskov Jansen, Anne Østerud
Sound Christian H. Lund, Jonas Langkilde, Srdjan Kurpjel
Composer Frédéric Vercheval
Production designer Jette Lehmann
Casting Anja Philip
Appearance Birthe Neumann, Simon Bennebjerg, Asta August, Nanna Skaarup Voss
Production country Denmark
Danish audio description Yes
Domestic distribution SF Studios
International sales REinvent Studios
Danish theatrical release 05.08.2021
DFI subsidy Markedsordningen
Danish rating Not recommended for children under 7
Download PDF


Production company SF Studios Production, Motor
Domestic distribution SF Studios


Direction Bille August
1st assistant director Peter Hingebjerg
Continuity Caroline Uggerhøj
Casting Anja Philip
Extras coordinator Jacob Thomas Pilgaard


Screenplay Christian Torpe


Producer Jesper Morthorst
Producer Karin Trolle
Producer''s assistant Emma Wendorff Skjøth
Executive producer Lars Bredo Rahbek
Executive producer Lars Bjørn Hansen
Production manager Melek Caglar
Production coordinator Ulrikke Xenia Sandby
Location manager Christoffer Harding
Location scout Rasmus Bøgh Hansen
Post-producton coordinator Iben Westi


Cinematographer Manuel Alberto Claro
Steadicam Anders Holck
First assistant camera Søren Berthelin
First assistant camera Anne Skamris
Camera assistant Rasmus Søndergaard Rygaard
Video assist Bertram Strandvig
Drone operator Benjamin Mathiesen
Drone operator Kasper "Ko" Lyngsie
DIT Oliver Woszny
DIT supervisor Isac Hessellund
Key grip Julien Chassaignon


Still photographer Rolf Konow

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Jacob Østergaard
Best boy Thomas Ditzel
Assistant lighting technician Mark Stig Bertelsen
Assistant lighting technician Kristoffer Bak
Assistant lighting technician Claus Lauritzen


Editor Janus Billeskov Jansen
Editor Anne Østerud
Assistant editor Emma Düring


Composer Frédéric Vercheval
Music supervisor Claus Kilpatrick

Production design

Production designer Jette Lehmann
Property master Tine Hieronymus Nielsen
Set dresser Christina Kallan
Set dresser Trine Jensen
Set dresser Jacob Wirth Carlsen
Set decorator Rasmus Balslev-Olesen
Assistant set dresser Mia Zander Oleson


Costume designer Anne-Dorthe Eskildsen
Costume on set Pia Myrdal
Costume on set Vibe Knoblauch
Costume on set Merete Engbæk Wrangel
Seamstress Lone Nyby


Chief makeup artist Dennis Knudsen
Chief makeup artist Susanne Søbye
SFX makeup Morten Jacobsen
Makeup artist Tina Helmark


Sound engineer Christian H. Lund
Sound engineer Jonas Langkilde
B-sound designer Lars Lund
Sound designer Srdjan Kurpjel


Stunt coordinator Dennis Albrethsen


Appearance Birthe Neumann
Appearance Simon Bennebjerg
Appearance Asta August
Appearance Nanna Skaarup Voss

Download PDF