Morag McKinnon, United Kingdom, 2010

78 min.Feature

Alfred is 64. He's lost touch with his family and a threat to his health makes him realise he wants to make amends. The more he tries to do right, the more he does wrong, and as his past comes back to haunt him, he is forced to face up to what his life means to him. Rounding Up Donkeys is the second film in Sigma and Zentropa's three feature film concept 'Advance Party'.
Basic information Credits Materials
Original title Donkeys
Danish title Rounding up Donkeys
Director Morag McKinnon
Screenplay Colin McLaren
Producer Anna Duffield
Director of Photography Lol Crawley
Editor Colin Monie, Jake Roberts
Sound Douglas MacDougall
Composer Magnus Fiennes
Production designer Mark Leese
Casting Kahleen Crawford
Appearance James Cosmo, Brian Pettifer, Martin Compston, Tony Curran
Production country United Kingdom, Denmark
DFI subsidy Minor
Download PDF


Production company Zentropa Entertainments, Sigma Films
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut
In collaboration with Limelight


Direction Morag McKinnon
1st assistant director Mark Ash
2nd assistant director Mark Murdoch
3rd assistant director Carol-Anne Henderson
Casting: extras Kay Gannon
Casting Kahleen Crawford


Screenplay Colin McLaren
Script supervisor Dorothy Connolley
Character developer Lone Scherfig
Storyboard Derek Gray
Character developer Anders Thomas Jensen


Executive producer Gillian Berrie
Executive producer Sisse Graum Jørgensen
Executive producer Carole Sheridan
Producer Anna Duffield
Associate producer Brian Coffey
Line producer Wendy Griffin
Co-producer Charlotte Pedersen
Production coordinator Michael Wilson
Post-production supervisor Emma Zee
Unit manager Ali Young
Unit manager Chris Cameron
Post-producton coordinator Alexandra Montgomery
Post-production coordinator: Denmark Ian Walsh


Cinematographer Lol Crawley
First assistant camera Derrick Peters
Camera assistant Scott Rodgers
Dailies John Harper
Dailies George Geddes
Key grip Tim Critchell
Rigger Iain Harrison
Rigger Marcus Barnes


Stills Roddy Hand

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Scott Napier
Assistant lighting technician Calum Milne


Editor Colin Monie
Editor Jake Roberts
Assistant editor Beth Hourston


Composer Magnus Fiennes
Music producer Magnus Fiennes
Music mixer Ric Featherstone
Composer: add. music William South
Music coordinator Lesley Scott

Production design

Production designer Mark Leese
Art director Louise Lyons
Art director Caroline Grebbell
Assistant set dresser Lee Porter
Assistant set dresser Jim Elliott
Set dresser Paul Campbell


Costume designer Anna Lau
Costume on set Amalie Harper Gow
Costume assistant Harriet Edmonds


Makeup artist Stephen Murphy
Makeup assistant Jessica Cruickshank


Recording engineer Martin Belshaw
Sound designer Douglas MacDougall
Boom operator Colin Gregory
Foley editor Kahl Henderson
Sound assistant Tom Griffiths
Foley artist Michael MacKinnon
Foley recordist Kahl Henderson
ADR recording Michael MacKinnon
ADR recording Iain Anderson
Re-recording mixer Iain Anderson
Dialogue editor Chris Sinclair
Re-recording mixer Charles 'Tower' Sinclair

Visual effects

Grading Dan Konzior
Technical chief Lars Dela
Digital colorist Trevor Brown
Digital intermediate technician Ben Holmes
Digital intermediate technician Rob Cooper


Stunt coordinator Stephen Griffin


Alfred Patterson James Cosmo
Brian Colburn Brian Pettifer
Stevie Blantyre Martin Compston
Clyde Tony Curran
Dr. April Hayley Natalie Press
Jackie Morrison Kate Dickie
Bronwyn Morrison Natasha Watson
Crispin John Comerford
Margaret Blantyre Hope Ross
TT Carolyn Calder

Download PDF