The Commune and Parents at the Fore in Bodil Awards

BODIL 2017. Of the five films running for best Danish film, no less than three are first features. Top scorer in this year's nominations for the Danish critics' Bodil Awards is Thomas Vinterberg's "The Commune," which is selected in five categories.

Thomas Vinterberg's "The Commune" leads the nominations for the Bodil Awards 2017, scoring five categories in this year's announcement of the candidates for Denmark's oldest film prize, which is handed out by the Danish Film Critics' Association.

See nominees for the Danish Film Academy's Robert Awards 2017

Vinterberg's drama, based on the director's childhood memories of growing up in a large communal house in the 1970s, is running for the title as Best Film as well as the awards in all four acting categories. Also selected in the Best Film category is Nicolas Winding Refn's "The Neon Demon."

Another film leading the competition is Christian Tafdrup's "Parents" with four nominations. Tafdrup's film, about a middle-aged couple whose attempt to make a fresh start takes an unexpected turn, is one of the three debuting directors vying for Best Film, with Ali Abassi's horror tale "Shelley" and Rasmus Heisterberg's drama "In the Blood" as the remaining two.

The Bodil Awards, celebrating their 70th anniversary in 2017, will take place on 4 March in Copenhagen. See more at  

Bodil Awards 2017 / Complete list of nominated films

Best Feature

    • The Commune (Thomas Vinterberg)
    • In the Blood (Rasmus Heisterberg)
    • Parents (Christian Tafdrup)
    • Shelley (Ali Abbasi)
    • The Neon Demon (Nicolas Winding Refn)

    Best Actress

    • Trine Dyrholm (The Commune)
    • Danica Curcic (Across the Waters)
    • Elle Fanning (The Neon Demon)
    • Bodil Jørgensen (Parents)
    • Cecilie Lassen (Walk with Me)

    Best Actor

      • David Dencik (Across the Waters)
      • Søren Malling (Parents)
      • Mikkel Boe Følsgaard (Walk with Me)
      • Martin Buch (Swinger)
      • Ulrich Thomsen (The Commune)

      Best Supporting Actress

        • Sofie Gråbøl (The Day Will Come)
        • Martha Sofie Wallstrøm Hansen (The Commune)
        • Victoria Carmen Sonne (In the Blood)
        • Laura Bro (Across the Waters)
        • Miri Ann Beuschel (Parents)

        Best Supporting Actor

          • Lars Mikkelsen (The Day Will Come)
          • Elliott Crosset Hove (In the Blood)
          • Alexandre Willaume (Hundeliv)
          • Lars Ranthe (The Commune)
          • Lars Ranthe (Love and other Catastrophes)

          Best Documentary

          • The War Show (Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon)
          • Who We Were (Sine Skibsholt)
          • BUGS (Andreas Johnsen)
          • Amateurs in Space (Max Kestner)
          • Vejen er lang (Mette Knudsen)

          Best Non-American Feature

            • Toni Erdmann (Maren Ade)
            • Son of Saul (László Nemes)
            • Ex Machina (Alex Garland)
            • Things to Come (Mia Hansen-Løve)
            • I, Daniel Blake (Ken Loach)

            Best American Feature

              • Arrival (Denis Villeneuve)
              • Spotlight (Thomas McCarthy)
              • The Revenant (Alejandro González Iñárritu)
              • Carol (Todd Haynes)
              • Captain Fantastic (Matt Ross)

              In addition to these categories, awards will be handed out for Best Script and Best Cinematographer as well as an Honorary Bodil, a Special Bodil and a production designer award.