Victoria Carmen Sonne is Shooting Star in Berlin

BERLIN 2020. Victoria Carmen Sonne, known for her roles in 'Holiday', 'Psychosia' and 'Winter Brothers', is selected as one of ten European Shooting Stars, a platform for promoting young actors during the Berlinale.

European Film Promotion has announced this year's Shooting Stars, representing the finest of emerging European actors at the Berlinale this February. Selected from Denmark is Victoria Carmen Sonne for her awardwinning turn in Isabella Eklöf's Sundance-selected 'Holiday' and Marie Grahtø's 'Psychosia', amongst other films. 

This year, Victoria Carmen Sonne stars in Daniel Dencik's 'Miss Osaka'. Last year, she featured in Laurits Flensted-Jensen's 'Neon Heart', selected for San Sebastian, and Marie Grahtø's 'Psychosia', selected for Venice's Critics' Week. She received a Danish Bodil Award for her performances in 'Holiday' and 'In the Blood' while also scoring a Danish Robert Award for her role in Hlynur Palmason's 'Winter Brothers'. 

The jury motivation reads: 

"Beauty is a phenomenon of baffling complexity. It resonates with mystery. It combines the allure of seeming naivety with formidable strength and resilience. Beauty is fragile, endangered and prone to be taken advantage of . Yet it counters and transforms these challenges with grace, innocence and undaunted levity. This is what we witness in the acting of Victoria Carmen Sonne. With this she gives life to movies and movies give life to her."

Shooting Stars

Each year during the Berlinale, the European Film Promotion (EFP) presents ten young acting talents to the film industry, public and international press. 

The four-day event culminates in the awards ceremony at the Berlinale Palast where each talent will be presented with the European Shooting Stars Award. 

For the 2020 edition, a total of 28 countries have each nominated one actor after which a jury selected the final ten.

EFP is a network of European promotion agencies representing their national films and talents.

The Shooting Stars platform is supported by the Creative Europe MEDIA Programme of the European Union and the respective EFP member organisations.

Previous Danish Shooting Stars

2019 Elliott Crosset Hove ('Winter Brothers')
2017 Esben Smed ('A Fortunate Man')
2015 Joachim Fjelstrup ('Itsi Bitsi')
2014 Danica Curcic ('Silent Heart')
2013 Mikkel Boe Følsgaard ('A Royal Affair')
2011 Pilou Asbæk ('Game of Thrones')