Nominees for the industry's Robert Awards

ROBERT 2017. Horror in the L.A. fashion world, communal living in the 1970s and tyranny in a 1960s boarding school – the Danish Film Academy reveal their choices for this year's Robert Awards nominees.

"The Neon Demon" by Nicolas Winding Refn, "The Commune" by Thomas Vinterberg and "The Day Will Come" by Jesper W. Nielsen are at the front of the nominations for the Robert Awards, one of Danish cinema's most prominent annual prize events organised by the Danish Film Academy, which represents the professional industry.

See nominees for the film critics' Bodil Awards 2017

The three films each garnered 11 nominations, including for Best Danish Film and Best Director. "The Neon Demon" and "The Day Will Come" are also competing for Best Original Script, while "The Commune" is in the run for Best Adapted Script.

Following closely behind in the nominations count are Rasmus Heisterberg's "In the Blood" and Christian Tafdrup's "Parents," both with eight nominations and both contending for the Best Film title, Nicolo Donato's "Across the Waters" (8), Hans Petter Moland's "A Conspiracy of Faith" (7) and Ali Abbasi's "Shelley" (5).

The Robert Awards 2017 will take place on 5 February in Copenhagen. See the full list of categories and nominees at

Robert Awards 2017 / Selected categories

Best Danish Film

  • The Day Will Come (Jesper W. Nielsen)
  • Parents (Christian Tafdrup)
  • In the Blood (Rasmus Heisterberg)
  • The Commune (Thomas Vinterberg)
  • The Neon Demon (Nicolas Winding Refn)

Best Children & Youth Film

  • Antboy 3 (Ask Hasselbalch)
  • Anti (Morten BH)
  • One-Two-Three Now! (Barbara Rothenborg)
  • In the Blood (Rasmus Heisterberg)
  • Iqbal & the Superchip (Oliver Zahle)

Best Director

  • Christian Tafdrup (Parents)
  • Jesper W. Nielsen (The Day Will Come)
  • Nicolas Winding Refn (The Neon Demon)
  • Rasmus Heisterberg (In the Blood)
  • Thomas Vinterberg (The Commune)

Best Original Script

  • Ali Abbasi, Maren Louise Käehne (Shelley)
  • Christian Tafdrup (Parents)
  • Nicolas Winding Refn, Mary Laws, Polly Stenham (The Neon Demon)
  • Rasmus Heisterberg (In the Blood)
  • Søren Sveistrup (The Day Will Come)

Best Adapted Script

  • Anders Ølholm (Antboy 3)
  • Nikolaj Arcel (A Conspiracy of Faith)
  • Thomas Vinterberg & Tobias Lindholm (The Commune)

Best Actress

  • Bodil Jørgensen (Parents)
  • Christine Albeck Børge (Love and Other Catastrophes)
  • Danica Curcic (Across the Waters)
  • Elle Fanning (The Neon Demon)
  • Trine Dyrholm (The Commune)

Best Actor

  • David Dencik (Across the Waters)
  • Mikkel Boe Følsgaard (Walk with Me)
  • Nikolaj Lie Kaas (A Conspiracy of Faith)
  • Søren Malling (Parents)
  • Ulrich Thomsen (The Commune)

Best Supporting Actress

  • Amanda Collin (A Conspiracy of Faith)
  • Laura Bro (Across the Waters)
  • Marijana Jankovic (Across the Waters)
  • Sofie Gråbøl (The Day Will Come)
  • Victoria Carmen Sonne (In the Blood)

Best Supporting Actor

  • Elliott Crosset Hove (Parents)
  • Elliott Crosset Hove (In the Blood)
  • Fares Fares (A Conspiracy of Faith)
  • Jakob Cedergren (Across the Waters)
  • Lars Mikkelsen (The Day Will Come)

Best Documentary

  • Amanda Knox (Brian McGinn, Rod Blackhurst)
  • Amateurs in Space (Max Kestner)
  • Who We Were (Sine Skibsholt)
  • Those Who Jump (Estephan Wagner, Moritz Siebert)
  • The War Show (Andreas Dalsgaard, Obaidah Zytoon)

Best American Film

  • Anomalisa (Charlie Kaufmann, Duke Johnson)
  • Arrival (Denis Villeneuve)
  • Carol (Todd Haynes)
  • The Big Short (Adam McKay)
  • The Revenant (Alejandro González Iñárritu)

Best Non-American Film

  • I, Daniel Blake (Ken Loach)
  • Toni Erdmann (Maren Ade)
  • Son of Saul (László Nemes)
  • The Lobster (Yorgos Lanthimos)
  • Youth (Paolo Sorrentino)