Mette Korsgaard, Denmark, 2023

71 min.DK/Documentary

’Bravehearts’ is the story of children and youths who seek help and shelter at Denmark’s only crisis center for children under the age of 18. Most of them have fled a violent home or other forms of neglect and untenable situations. Many are homeless. They ask for help to get away from the home and, more than anything, they want a safe place to live. Common to them is that none of them feels heard by the authorities. Every other day, Joanna House is approached by yet another youth. The founder of the crisis center, Jette Wilhelmsen, and her staff receive the youngsters, provide them with shelter and support them in establishing a dialogue with the authorities and ensure that they are helped in realizing their rights.
Basic information Credits
Original title De Umyndige
Danish title De Umyndige
Keywords Crisis centre, Young people, Children, Rights, Counselling, Families, Violence, Homeless people, 2020-2030
Director Mette Korsgaard
Producer Malene Flindt Pedersen, Signe Skov Thomsen
Director of Photography Per Fredrik Skiöld
Editor Julie Winding
Sound Rasmus Winther Jensen
Composer Jeppe Wolmer
Production country Denmark
Online release 27.06.2023, Filmcentralen
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 11
Download PDF


Production company Hansen & Pedersen
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut, Egmont Fonden, Nordisk Film & TV Fond
In collaboration with TV2 Danmark, SVT, VGTV


Direction Mette Korsgaard


Dramaturge consultant Molly Steensgaard
Dramaturge consultant Anders Riis-Hansen


Producer Malene Flindt Pedersen
Producer Signe Skov Thomsen
Producer: development Anne Krysiza Sørensen
Post-production supervisor Jakob Schaumburg
Executive producer Anders Riis-Hansen
Production assistant Maja Foss Hagerup
Production assistant Xuan Nguyen
Production assistant Kamma Bay Eriksen
Production assistant Line Aas Sørensen


Cinematographer Per Fredrik Skiöld
Cinematographer: Additional shoot Sujato Louisa Wassileffsky
Cinematographer: Additional shoot Mette Korsgaard


Additional editing Thor Ochsner
Additional editing Mads Michael Olsen
Assistant editor Peter Bjerggaard
Editor Julie Winding


Composer Jeppe Wolmer


Sound engineer Rasmus Winther Jensen
Foley artist Catrine le Dous
Foley recordist Mira Falk
Sound effects Kasper Janus Rasmussen

Visual effects

Graphic design Åsmund Sollihøgda
Colorist Rune Felix Holm

Download PDF