Anna Sofie Hartmann, Germany, 2019

87 min.Feature

A tunnel will be built to connect Denmark and Germany, the present sets in motion towards the future, change hangs in the air. Dara, an ethnologist, arrives to document the houses tagged for demolition. The young Pole, Lucek, and his colleagues prepare the future construction site. Käthe works on the ferry, steadily moving people, their stories, and goods to and fro. Birte and Leif leave their house that has been passed down for generations. Agnes' life resounds in her diaries, collectibles and the walls of her home, which will soon be demolished. A Danish summer: long days turn into blue nights. People meet and part ways again.
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Original title Giraffe
Danish title Giraffe
Director Anna Sofie Hartmann
Screenplay Anna Sofie Hartmann
Producer Jonas Dornbach, Maren Ade, Janine Jackowski
Director of Photography Jenny Lou Ziegel
Editor Sofie Steenberger
Sound Sune Kaarsberg
Casting Ulrike Müller
Appearances Lisa Loven Kongsli, Jakub Gierszal, Mariusz Feldman, Przemyslaw Mazurek
Production country Germany, Denmark
Production companies Komplizen Film
Domestic distribution Camera Films


Production companies Komplizen Film
Co-producer Profile Pictures, Rundfunk Berlin Brandenburg
With support from Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg, Det Danske Filminstitut, Filmförderungsanstalt
In collaboration with DR
Domestic distribution Camera Films


Direction Anna Sofie Hartmann
Casting Ulrike Müller


Screenplay Anna Sofie Hartmann


Producer Jonas Dornbach
Producer Maren Ade
Producer Janine Jackowski
Co-producer Ditte Milsted
Co-producer Jacob Jarek
Co-producer Caroline Schlüter Bingestam
Editor Cooky Ziesche
Line producer Ben von Dobeneck
Production manager Daria Wichmann
Consultant: development Zsuzsanna Kiràly


Cinematographer Jenny Lou Ziegel


Editor Sofie Steenberger

Production design

Set designer Karin Betzler


Costume designer Sophie Reble


Recording engineer Oliver Göbel
Sound designer Sune Kaarsberg


Appearance Lisa Loven Kongsli
Appearance Jakub Gierszal
Appearance Mariusz Feldman
Appearance Przemyslaw Mazurek
Appearance Janusz Chojnacki
Appearance Piotr Olszanski
Appearance Andrzej Wicher
Appearance Piotr Jurczyk
Appearance Robert Plachta
Appearance Miroslaw Piorunek
Appearance Maren Eggert

Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.