Dola Bonfils, Denmark, 2004

60 min.TV documentary

The C-Memorandum (Capacity Memorandum) is the name given to the secret minutes written by a team of top defence leaders in the spring of 2003. The minutes deal with their military viewpoints on the future challenges to policies of security and the new role of the Defence force in the new world after September 11th 2001. They believed that a new policy and economical approach was necessary, and they decided to involve themselves in the public debate. Something that is unprecedented in the history of the Ministry of Defence.

At the beginning of September 2003, the Ministry of Defence released a proposal based on the Capacity minutes. The proposal was seen as a radical change and would not be implemented without involving the entire staff of the Ministry, who would now take active part in the negotiations. This process - and the results thereof - produced the basis for the new defence agreement, which the political parties had to agree upon.

Basic information Credits
Original title K-notatet
Danish title K-notatet
Other titles Om forsvaret i fremtiden, Magtens billeder 1
Keywords Defence Command, Defence policy, Armed forces command, Security policy, Military, Denmark, 2000-2009
Director Dola Bonfils
Screenplay Dola Bonfils, Allan Berg Nielsen, Henrik Grunnet, Jakob Kirstein Høgel, Stefan Samsøe-Petersen
Director of Photography Henrik Bohn Ipsen
Editor David Rosenquist
Sound Roar Skau Olsen
Production country Denmark
Domestic distribution Danmarks Radio, Danske Filminstitut
International sales Warner Bros. International Television Production Danmark
Technical info color
TV release 21.04.2004, DR
Danish festival release 10.08.2004, Odense Film Festival
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte
Danish rating Allowed for all
Download PDF


Production company Easy Film
Co-production Danmarks Radio
With support from Undervisningsministeriet, Enkefru Plums Støttefond
Domestic distribution Danmarks Radio, Danske Filminstitut


Direction Dola Bonfils


Script Dola Bonfils
Script Allan Berg Nielsen
Script Henrik Grunnet
Script Jakob Kirstein Høgel
Script Stefan Samsøe-Petersen


Production Claus Ladegaard
Executive producer Lars Grarup


Cinematography Henrik Bohn Ipsen
Camera operator Morten Bruus
Camera operator Thomas Marott


Stills Henrik Bohn Ipsen


Editing David Rosenquist


Sound designer Roar Skau Olsen
Sound Kaspar Ardenkjær-Husted

Visual effects

Colourist Frederik Bokkenheuser

Download PDF