The President from the North

Lars Feldballe Petersen, Denmark, 2017

63 min.DK/Documentary

Can you run as president and create a new and democratic Somalia after 47 years in Denmark? This is exactly what 67-year-old Ahmed Dualeh is planning to do, as he sets course for the country he, more than anything else, wants to help rebuild on the basis of values he has come to appreciate during his time in Denmark. But his dream proves to be far from the everyday reality in Somalia. Resistance is heavy and the victories few. At the same time his own foundation is crumbling under his feet, as he and his family in Denmark are slowly drifting apart. The question is: Can Dualeh let go of his dream of rebuilding the country of his childhood, and what price is he willing to pay?
Basic information Credits
Original title Præsidenten fra Nordvest
Danish title Præsidenten fra Nordvest
Keywords Somalia, Domestic policy, Democracy, Personal history, Dualeh, Ahmed, 2010-2019
Director Lars Feldballe Petersen
Screenplay Lars Feldballe Petersen, Jacob Andersen
Producer Lisa Klit, Nils Feldballe Petersen
Director of Photography Lars Feldballe Petersen, Henrik Bohn Ipsen
Editor Jacob Andersen
Composer Povl Kristian
Production country Denmark
Domestic distribution Danske Filminstitut, Danmarks Radio
International sales DR International Sales
Danish festival release 20.03.2017,
Comment Lars Feldballe Petersen's films include The Battle on Chemicals (2008) and The Unforgiven (2017), the latter title premiering at CPH:DOX. He has also produced a number of films.
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 11
Download PDF


Production company
Executive Producer Film & TV Compagniet
With support from FilmFyn, Danmarks Radio
Domestic distribution Danske Filminstitut, Danmarks Radio


Direction Lars Feldballe Petersen


Screenplay Lars Feldballe Petersen
Screenplay Jacob Andersen
Idea Jacob Andersen


Producer Lisa Klit
Producer Nils Feldballe Petersen


Cinematographer Lars Feldballe Petersen
Cinematographer Henrik Bohn Ipsen


Editing Jacob Andersen


Composer Povl Kristian

Visual effects

Colourist Adam Bendixen
Motion graphics Lars Gregers

Download PDF