Malou Reymann, Denmark, 2023

134 min.DK/FeatureDrama

MAREN, a strongminded young woman, is seen by authorities to be promiscuous and is therefore sent to the women’s institution in the small island of Sprogø. Here she is to learn how to behave as a proper young woman. She has to share a room with SØRINE who has already internalised the story about herself and has learned to behave properly. Sørine is to help Maren settle in Sprogø and help her change her behavior. But Maren does not comply with the system which ends up having fatal consequences for both herself and for Sørine. The film is inspired by actual events on the women’s institution of Sprogø in Denmark in the 1930’s.
Basic information Credits Materials
Original title Ustyrlig
Danish title Ustyrlig
Director Malou Reymann
Screenplay Malou Reymann, Sara Isabella Jønsson
Producer Matilda Appelin
Director of Photography Sverre Sørdal
Editor Ida Bregninge
Sound Hans Christian Arnt Torp, Oskar Skriver
Composer Lisa Montan
Production designer Rie Lykke
Casting Anja Philip
Appearance Emilie Kroyer Koppel, Jessica Dinnage, Lene Maria Christensen, Amalie Drud Abildgaard
Production country Denmark
Domestic distribution Nordisk Film Distribution A/S
International sales TrustNordisk
Danish theatrical release 09.03.2023
Comment Malou Reymann made her debut as a feature film director with the Rotterdam-winning ‘A Perfectly Normal Family’ (2020), and with her second feature film ‘Unruly’ she is telling the true story-based drama about the infamous Danish women’s institution on Sprogø.
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 11
Download PDF


Production company
Executive Producer Nordisk Film Production A/S
Co-production Nordisk Film Production Sverige AB
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut, Svenska Filminstitutet, DR
Domestic distribution Nordisk Film Distribution A/S


Direction Malou Reymann
Casting Anja Philip


Screenplay Malou Reymann
Screenplay Sara Isabella Jønsson


Producer Matilda Appelin
Unit manager Anders Barlebo
Line producer Caroline Reichhardt
Production manager Cecilie Anna Christiansen
Co-producer Anna Warfvinge
Co-producer Eva Åkergren
Executive producer Henrik Zein
Executive producer Calle Marthin


Cinematographer Sverre Sørdal

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Niels Dose


Editor Ida Bregninge


Composer Lisa Montan

Production design

Production designer Rie Lykke


Key costumer Mads Nikolaj Elly Jacobsen


Chief makeup artist Sara Sofia Kasper


Sound designer Hans Christian Arnt Torp
Sound designer Oskar Skriver


Maren Emilie Kroyer Koppel
Sørine Jessica Dinnage
Frida Nielsen Lene Maria Christensen
Elise Amalie Drud Abildgaard
Karla Josefine Thorø Reumert Grau
Hans-Otto Wildenskov Anders Heinrichsen
Ursuala Ahlefeldt-Laurvig Danica Curcic

Download PDF