Rasmus Kloster Bro, Denmark, 2019

84 min.Drama, ThrillerDK/Feature

Rie is a PR-coordinator visiting a tunnel boring machine to portray the well-oiled European cooperation in the Metro construction when an accident suddenly occurs. Unable to escape, she takes refuge in an airlock with Croatian miner Ivo and Bharan, a worker from Eritrea. They put their lives and bodies in each other’s hands to survive the heat, pressure and mud in the claustrophobic cutterhead, exposing their radically different world views and forcing them to reconsider their lives – before finally being rescued.
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Danish title Cutterhead
Other titles Cutterhead
Director Rasmus Kloster Bro
Screenplay Rasmus Kloster Bro, Mikkel Bak Sørensen
Producer Amalie Lyngbo Quist
Director of Photography Martin Munch
Appearances Christine Sønderris, Samson Semere, Krešimir Mikic, Salvatore Striano
Production country Denmark
Subtitles Yes
Audio description No
Production companies Beo Starling
Domestic distribution Reel Pictures
International sale LevelK /Over gården, 3. / Gammel Kongevej 137 / 1850 Frederiksberg C / t +45 4844 3072 / c +45 2010 8580 / tine.klint@levelk.dk / www.levelk.dk
Danish theatrical release 21.03.2019
Comment Feature debut by Rasmus Kloster Bro. The film is one of several films coming out of the Danish Film Institute’s talent funding initiative, The Sketch, which focuses on the development process.
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 15


Production companies Beo Starling
With support from New Danish Screen, Det Danske Filminstitut
Domestic distribution Reel Pictures


Direction Rasmus Kloster Bro


Screenplay Rasmus Kloster Bro
Screenplay Mikkel Bak Sørensen
Consultant Valerio Violo


Producer Amalie Lyngbo Quist
Executive producer Peter Hyldahl
Unit manager Nikolaj Storgaard Mortensen
Production manager Mille Astrup
Production coordinator Nanna Lykke
Production assistant Chiara Renée Podbielski
Production assistant Catalina Portillo
Coordinator Michael Sifakis
Production manager: development Ves Møller Rasmussen
Production assistant Fie Madsen
Post-production supervisor Edoardo Rebecchi
Post-producton coordinator Inés Europa Crespo Esteso
Coordinator Elisabetta Mindopi


Cinematographer Martin Munch
First assistant camera Mads Junker
Camera assistant Sophie Søborg Mosbæk
DIT Jesper Mark Hansen
Cinematographer: 2. unit Balthazar Hertel
First assistant camera: 2. unit Emil Aagaard
2nd assistant camera Daniel Finn Olsen


Still photographer Tobias Selnaes Markussen

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Niclas Fusager
Electrician assistant Sebastian Lyding
Lighting assistant: 2. unit Kasper Jack Larsen
Electrician assistant Simon Dixgaard


Editor Jakob Juul Toldam
Assistant editor Anne Berg Johansen
Assistant editor Jesper Mark Hansen
Assistant editor Nikolaj Kristensen
Assistant editor Anna C.B. Lund


Music SØS Gunver Ryberg
Sound textures SØS Gunver Ryberg

Production design

Production designer Kristine Køster
Set dresser Oscar Pontén
Consultant Mikkel Bruhn
Set modelling Anders Karlsson
Set modelling Mogens Sand
Set modelling Christian Baastrup
Patinør Christine Bechmameil
Production design assistant Mina Lejbølle


Costume designer Carina Lin Sixten
Costume on set Kristine Møller


SFX makeup Martin Hansen
Makeup artist Mickaela Berman


Sound engineer Kasper Janus Rasmussen
Sound designer Lars Halvorsen
Sound engineer (development) Christian Munk Scheuer
B-sound designer Mathias Dehn Middelhart
B-sound designer Mikkel Nielsen
Sound effects Jacob Kirkegaard
Sound effects Jamie Louis Thurman
Sound effects Philip Nicolai Flindt
Foley artist Heikki Kossi
Foley mixer Kari Vähäkuopus
Sound mixer Peter Albrechtsen
Sound mixer Lars Halvorsen

Special effects

Special effects Finn Thomassen
Special effects Flemming Christensen
SFX: 2. Unit Benjamin Balle

Visual effects

Graphic design Åsmund Sollihøgda
Colorgrading Edoardo Rebecchi
Visual effects Henrik Bach Christensen


Stunt coordinator Anders Nylander Thomsen


Rie Christine Sønderris
Bharan Samson Semere
Ivo Krešimir Mikic
Alfredo Salvatore Striano
Adrian Adrian Heili
Datter Lilli Fernanda Kondrup
Røgdykker Anders Nylander Thomsen
Røgdykker stemme Rasmus Hammerich

Awards and nominations

Award Year Festival
Best Actress 2018 Bratislava International Film Festival 2018

Festival screenings

Festival Festival date
Bratislava International Film Festival 2018-11-29
Tallinn Black Nights Film Festival 2018-11-16
Malaga International Fantastic Film Festival 2018-11-14
La Roche-sur-Yon Film Festival 2018-10-15
Busan International Film Festival 2018-10-04
Montreal, Festival International Nouveau Cinema 2018-10-03
Strasbourg European Fantastic Film Festival 2018-09-14
Motelx International Horror Film Festival 2018-09-04
Palic European Film Festival 2018-07-10
Neuchatel International Fantastic Film Festival 2018-07-06
Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.