Vitello Builds a Monster Trap

Dorte Bengtson, Denmark, 2018

7 min.TV seriesChildren's films, Animation

If there is something Vitello likes, it is monsters, zombies and skulls. Just not when it is dark. When it gets dark and it’s time to sleep, he starts wondering whether someone could be hiding under the bed or lurking in the hallway? With fangs? Vitello will have to come up with a solution...
Basic information Credits
Original title Vitello bygger en monsterfælde
Danish title Vitello bygger en monsterfælde
International titles Vitello
Part of Vitello
Director Dorte Bengtson
Screenplay Kim Fupz Aakeson, Dorte Bengtson, Kim Fupz Aakeson
Based on Baseret på bøgerne om drengen Vitello af Kim Fupz Aakeson og Niels Bo Bojesen.
Producer Anders Berthelsen, Bob Last
Editor Bobbie Esra G. Pertan, Dorte Bengtson
Sound John L. Cobban
Composer Philippe Boix-Vives
Casting Signe Mynborg
Production country Denmark
International sales TrustNordisk
Online release 28.08.2018, Filmcentralen
Comment Feature debut by Dorte Bengtson, based on a popular children's book series by Kim Fupz Aakeson and Niels Bo Bojesen. Bengtson has directed the animated shorts 'Vitello Digs a Hole' (2015), 'The Shadow Animal' (2013) and 'The Sylpphid' (2008), her graduation film selected for Cannes' Cinéfondation.
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte
Danish rating Allowed for all
Download PDF


Production company
Executive Producer Ja Film
Co-production Zentropa Entertainments, SellOutPictures
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut, Creative Scotland, Den Vestdanske Filmpulje, DR [TV-B&U-afdelingen], DR, Nordvision, YLE, Nordisk Film & TV Fond, MEDIA (EU), Gyldendal, FilmFyn, Min Bio, NRK, Angel Films


Direction Dorte Bengtson
Casting Signe Mynborg


Script Kim Fupz Aakeson
Screenplay Dorte Bengtson
Screenplay Kim Fupz Aakeson
Storyboard Kim Hagen Jensen
Dialogue Ida Lærke Holm
Dialogue Line Høstrup


Executive producer Charlotte Pedersen
Producer Anders Berthelsen
Producer Bob Last
Line producer Lise Uldbjerg Jørgensen
Production manager Julie Raunsmed Peitersen
Production manager Maria Stokholm Wernicke
Production manager: England Anna Thomson
Executive producer Rune Christensen
Executive producer Robbie Allen
Executive producer Ross McKenzie


Cinematographic supervisor Sophie Winqvist


Editor Bobbie Esra G. Pertan
Editor Dorte Bengtson
Technical consultant Jakob Bønsdorff Eriksen
Facility manager Tine Weise Clasen
Technical supervisor Simon Lytting


Composer Philippe Boix-Vives
Music supervisor Mikkel Maltha


Dialogue recording Brian Dyrby
Dialogue recording Tobias Lukassen
Foley artist Phill Barrett
Sound designer John L. Cobban
Sound mixer John L. Cobban


Mor Sidse Babett Knudsen
Vitello Samuel Søby Bang
William Adrian Seier Aarup
Max / Hasse Sander Herstad Lauridsen
Tv-træner Bodil Jørgensen
Williams mor Signe Mynborg

Visual effects

Concept designer Niels Bo Bojesen
Colorstyler Marie Jørgensen
Colorstyler Lærke Enemark
Colorstyler Drude Mangaard
Supervisor Ania Leszczynska
Colourist Freya Allan
Colourist Shannon Cooke
Colourist Stephen McAdam
Colourist Victoria Stephen
Compositing Mathieu Durand
Compositing John Tatevosyan
Mastering Lárus Ren Gudbjörnsson


Character design Anne Birk
Character design Drude Mangaard
Character design Rasmus Brinck
Character design Karen Rohde Johansson
Character design Vicky Haworth
Background designer Marie Jørgensen
Background designer Lærke Enemark
Animation supervisor Vicky Haworth
Animation supervisor Louise Bergholt Sørensen
Animator Anne Birk
Animation Edith Bach
Animation Jens Christian Høgni Larsen
Animation Karen Rohde Johansson
Animation Lars Kristian Løveng Sunde
Animation Laura Büchert Schjødt
Animation Pedro Ivo Carvalho de Araujo Silva
Animation Rasmus Brinck

Download PDF