Triangle of Sadness

Ruben Östlund, Sweden, 2022

147 min.Feature

Models Carl and Yaya are navigating the world of fashion while exploring the boundaries of their relationship. The couple are invited for a luxury cruise with a rogues’ gallery of super-rich passengers, a Russian oligarch, British arms dealers and an idiosyncratic, alcoholic, Marx- quoting captain. At first, all appears Instagrammable. But a storm is brewing, and heavy seasickness hits the passengers during the seven-course captain’s dinner.
The cruise ends catastrophically. Carl and Yaya find themselves marooned on a desert island with a group of billionaires and one of the ship’s cleaners. Hierarchy is suddenly flipped upside down, as the housekeeper is the only one who knows how to fish.
Basic information Credits
Original title Triangle of Sadness
Danish title Triangle of Sadness
Director Ruben Östlund
Screenplay Ruben Östlund
Producer Erik Hemmendorff, Philippe Bober
Director of Photography Fredrik Wenzel
Editor Ruben Östlund, Mikel Cee Karlsson
Sound Andreas Franck, Bent Holm
Production designer Josefin Åsberg
Casting Pauline Hansson
Appearance Harris Dickinson, Charlbi Dean, Dolly De Leon, Zlatko Buric
Production country Sweden, Denmark, France, Germany
Domestic distribution SF Studios
International sales Coproduction Office
Danish theatrical release 22.09.2022
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 11
Download PDF


Production company Plattform Produktion
Co-production Essential Films, Coproduction Office, Sveriges Television, ZDF/ARTE, Arte France Cinéma, TRT Sinema
With support from Svenska Filminstitutet, Eurimages, Medien Board Berlin Brandenburg, Det Danske Filminstitut, MOIN Film Fund Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein, BFI
In collaboration with Imperative Entertainment, Film i Väst, BBC Films, 30West, Nordisk Film & TV Fond, DR, ARTE France, Canal+, Cine+, Heretic Films, Board Carde Film, Sovereign Films, Piano
Domestic distribution SF Studios


Direction Ruben Östlund
Casting Pauline Hansson
Casting: Denmark Tanja Grunwald


Screenplay Ruben Östlund
Script consultant Sina Östlund


Producer Erik Hemmendorff
Producer Philippe Bober
Executive producer Dan Fiedkin
Executive producer Bradley Thomas
Executive producer Ryan Friedkin
Executive producer Micah Green
Executive producer Daniel Steinman
Executive producer Peter Possne
Executive producer Mikael Fellenius
Executive producer Rose Garnet
Executive producer Lizzie Francke
Executive producer Giorgos Karnavas
Executive producer Konstantinos Kontrovakis
Co-producer Marina Perales Marhuenda
Co-producer Mike Goodridge
Co-producer Clemens Köstlin
Co-producer Per Damgaard Hansen
Co-producer Julio Chavezmontes
Line producer: Development Mouns Overgaard
Producer's assistant Laura Elizabeth Ruiz Diaz


Cinematographer Fredrik Wenzel


Editor Ruben Östlund
Editor Mikel Cee Karlsson
Additional editing Jacob Secher Schulsinger
Assistant editor Ludwig Källén


Music supervisor Mikkel Maltha
Music supervisor Leslie Ming

Production design

Production designer Josefin Åsberg


Costume designer Sofie Krunegård


Makeup artist Stefanie Gredig


Sound designer Andreas Franck
Sound designer Bent Holm

Visual effects

VFX supervisor Peter Hjorth
VFX Alexander Schepelern
VFX Jörundur Rafn Arnarson


Carl Harris Dickinson
Yaya Charlbi Dean
Abigail Dolly De Leon
Dimitry Zlatko Buric
Therese Iris Berben
Paula Vicki Berlin
Jarmo Henrik Dorsin
Nelson Jean-Christophe Folly
The Captain Woody Harrelson

Download PDF