Forget Me Not

Sun Hee Engelstoft, Denmark, 2019

86 min.DK/Documentary

At the Aeshuwon institution on the South Korean island of Jeju, young pregnant and unmarried women come to seek refuge to hide their pregnancies. Here, the women stay until they have given birth, having to make a crucial choice of whether to keep their child or give it up for adoption, as society does not accept unmarried mothers. Typically, the disgrace of the family, the reluctance of the boyfriend and the disdain of the South Korean society towards the women’s behaviour have a big impact on their final decision. At Aeshuwon, however, the strong-willed manager Mrs. Im supports the women and their fight for independence.
Basic information Credits
Original title Forglem mig ej
Danish title Forglem mig ej
Keywords Young people, South Korea, Pregnancy, Adoption, Women's conditions, Women's crisis center, Single mothers, Stigmatization, Social exclusion, Girls, Women, 2010-2019
Director Sun Hee Engelstoft
Screenplay Sun Hee Engelstoft
Producer Monica Hellström
Director of Photography Sun Hee Engelstoft, Linda Wassberg, Camilla Hjelm Knudsen, Maria von Hausswolff
Editor Rebekka Lønqvist
Sound Peter Albrechtsen
Composer Karsten Fundal
Appearance Dr. Im Ae Duck
Production country Denmark
Domestic distribution Danske Filminstitut
International sales Autlook Filmsales
Online release 20.02.2020, Filmcentralen,
Comment The film, Sun Hee Engelstoft’s first feature documentary, premiered at CPH:DOX.
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 11
Download PDF


Production company Final Cut for Real ApS
Co-production Minch&Films
With support from New Danish Screen, TV2, DR, Den Vestdanske Filmpulje, DMZ, Statens Kunstfond, Danske Filminstruktører, Politiken-Fonden, Korean Film Council
Domestic distribution Danske Filminstitut


Direction Sun Hee Engelstoft
Consultant Sine Skibsholt
Consultant Janus Billeskov Jansen
Consultant Joan Rang Christensen
Consultant Karin Priergaard Worsøe
Consultant Max Kestner
Consultant Arne Bro
Consultant Seunghae Jane Kim


Screenplay Sun Hee Engelstoft
Voice over manuscript Joan Rang Christensen


Producer Monica Hellström
Co-producer Min-Chul Kim
Executive producer Signe Byrge Sørensen
Line producer Maya Sinji Jung
Associate producer Heidi Elise Christensen
Associate producer Anne Köhncke
Production manager Maria Kristensen
Post Producer Lise Uldbjerg Jørgensen
Post-production manager Julie Peitersen
Post Producer Maria Kristensen
Post-production supervisor Anders V. Christensen
Research Kasper Juhl Kjems
Research Mauricio González-Aranda
Research Barbara Crvelin
Research Ida Ågård
Research Mads Liljendahl
Research Emma Svendsen
Research Paul Eriksen
Research Piotr Winiewicz
Research Aoibhe Jessen
Research Susanna Azevedo
Research Jihye Park
Research Gayon Yang
Research Seunghee Han
Research Boram Kim
Research David Taehoon Kim
Research Keunyoung Lim
Research Sora Jung
Research Seoyun Kang
Research Heejin Lee
Research Hae Ju Kang


Cinematographer Sun Hee Engelstoft
Cinematographer Linda Wassberg
Cinematographer Camilla Hjelm Knudsen
Cinematographer Maria von Hausswolff


Editor Rebekka Lønqvist
B-editor Michael Aaglund
B-editor Jeppe Bødskov
B-editor Jacob Secher Schulsinger
B-editor Thor Ochsner


Composer Karsten Fundal
Additional music Morten Svenstrup


Sound designer Peter Albrechtsen
B-sound designer Morten Green
B-sound designer Mikkel Nielsen
Foley artist Heikki Kossi
Foley mixer Kari Vähäkuopus
Sound effects recordist Kyusik Chang
Mixer Peter Albrechtsen

Visual effects

Colourist Anders V. Christensen
Graphic design Martin Hultman
Compositing Jakob Bønsdorff Eriksen
Compositing John Tatevosyan
VFX Jakob Bønsdorff Eriksen
VFX John Tatevosyan
VFX Martin Munck Schmidt
VFX Maria Klarlund
Technical assistant Waltteri Vanhanen


Animation development Helena Frank
Tracking & Rotoscoping Patrick Brannvoll
Tracking & Rotoscoping Simon Ternowitz


Appearance Dr. Im Ae Duck

Download PDF