Finding Home

Christian E. Christiansen, Denmark, 2018

160 min.TV seriesDrama

The year is 1899. The young girl Marie Jensen lives at an orphanage with her two younger siblings Karl and Sofie. Their father is a sailor and has not been home for years. He was last seen in Norway but everybody is convinced he was lost at sea – except Marie. One morning the beautiful freighter ‘Hope’ comes to town with Skipper Andersen and his wife Mrs. Agnete on board. To Marie’s distress, they adopt Karl and Sofie, and Marie now faces being left alone. But quickly she comes up with a plan. At night, she cuts her long hair and disguises herself as a boy, adopts the name of Martin and signs on as a deck boy on ‘’Hope’. The ship takes Marie and her siblings on an eventful journey from the coast of Denmark to Norway and Iceland. A journey full of secrets, friendship, love and adventure – all in the hope of finding her father and reuniting her family. 'Finding Home' is a story about a young girl’s fight to break free of the path that society has destined for her and instead becoming a strong and independent woman.
Basic information Credits
Original title Håbet
Danish title Håbet
Director Christian E. Christiansen
Producer Jonas Bagger
Director of Photography Niels Buchholzer
Editor Anja Farsig
Sound Eddie Simonsen, Tobias Lukassen, Kevin Baunshøj, Mikkel Skolnik Sørensen
Composer Nicklas Schmidt
Production designer Sabine Hviid, Josephine Farsø
Casting Anders Nygaard
Appearance Anine-Petrea Lindvig, Albert Rudbeck Lindhardt, Lars Brygmann, Kirsten Olesen
Production country Denmark, Sweden, Belgium, Norway
Domestic distribution TV2
Download PDF


Production company
Executive Producer Zentropa Episode ApS, TV2 Danmark
Co-production Film i Väst, Gardner and Domm, Zentropa Belgium, Zentropa Norge
With support from Public Service Puljen, FilmFyn, Creative Europe, The Tax Shelter of the Federal Government of Belgium
In collaboration with C More Entertainment, Kanal 4 Sverige, NRK
Domestic distribution TV2


Direction Christian E. Christiansen
Continuity Ditte Sun
2nd assistant director Camilla Hagen Albrechtsen
Casting Anders Nygaard
Casting: children Jette Termann
Extras coordinator Anne Magnér


Main screenwriter Ina Bruhn
Storyboard Snorre Krogh


Producer Jonas Bagger
Executive producer Louise Vesth
Executive producer Jennifer Green
Associate producer Kasper Dissing
Co-producer Mark Denessen
Co-producer Ivy Vanhaecke
Unit manager Nikolaj Tarp
Line producer Stine Marie M. Nielsen
Production coordinator Asbjørn Munk
Production assistant Anja Søgaard Christiansen
Post-production assistant Katrine Larsen
Producer's assistant Camilla Hagen Albrechtsen
Location manager Benjamin Mathiesen
Location scout Anne Magnér
Line producer (Iceland) Anton Máni Svansson
Line producer: Norway David Leader
Line producer (Belgium) Frédéric Gies
Post-production manager Line Plougsbæk
IT-support Peter Mygdal
IT-support Gorm Oppermann
Technical chief Jonas Bergsøe


Cinematographer Niels Buchholzer
First assistant camera Letizia Giorgi
2nd assistant camera Thomas Meyer
DIT Oliver Lindboe
Key grip Michael Tøt
Key grip Mikael Kort
Drone operator Stefan Helborg
Cinematographer: Additional shoot Martin Top Jacobsen
First assistant camera: Extra shooting Lars Krogsgaard
First assistant camera: Extra shooting Franz A. Borde
First assistant camera: Extra shooting Henrik Lyngbo
First assistant camera: Extra shooting Søren Pedersen


Still photographer Christian Geisnæs
Still photographer Henrik Petit

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Thomas Neivelt
Best boy Morten Kastberg
Best boy Christian Warncke Nutzhorn
Best boy Claus Preis
Best boy Phillip Jørgensen
Best boy Ib Valentin
Gaffer: 2. unit Torben Brent Wenneberg
Gaffer: 2. unit Noah Lynnerup
Assistant lighting technician: 2. unit Sebastian Lyding


Editor Anja Farsig
2nd editor Martin Gleerup
2nd editor Bodil Kjærhauge
Facility manager Tine Weise Clasen
Avid supervisor Lárus Ren Gudbjörnsson
Assistant editor Asker Frølund Andersen
Technical support Oliver Lindboe


Composer Nicklas Schmidt
Music supervisor Mikkel Maltha
Music supervisor Leslie Ming

Production design

Production designer Sabine Hviid
Production designer Josephine Farsø
Set designer Lódi Csaba
Property master Lasse Kjederqvist
Set dresser Trine Weber
Set decorator Christina Kallan
Assistant set dresser Clara Maria Torp Øckenholt
Assistant set dresser Jeanett Brahe


Costume designer Louize Nissen
Key costumer Yolanda Bluff
Costume on set Lucie-Marie Layers
Costume on set Marianne Elgaard-Bendtsen
Costume assistant Anemone Overgaard
Costume assistant Anna Carli Holmgren
Costume assistant Charlotte Scheffmann Weber
Costume assistant Liv Kanstrup
Costume assistant Maia Omann Bindesbøll
Costume assistant Maria Dannevang Thomsen
Costume assistant Sara Lerdal Champagne


Makeup designer Kirsten Zäschke
Makeup artist Pia Ankjær Poulsen
Makeup assistant Annemette Mikkelsen
Makeup artist: add. shooting Christina Vestergaard


Sound designer Eddie Simonsen
Sound designer Tobias Lukassen
Sound designer Kevin Baunshøj
Sound engineer Mikkel Skolnik Sørensen
Boom operator Chris De Strycker
Sound engineer: add. shooting Kasper Munck-Hansen
B-sound designer Anne Jensen
Foley artist Julien Naudin
Foley recordist Thomas de Paw

Special effects

SFX coordinator Hummer Højmark
SFX technician Anders Nylander
SFX technician Flemming Christensen
SFX technician Jonas Off

Visual effects

Digital colorist Emil Eriksson
Graphic design and title sequence Lars Sorgenfri Simonsen
Graphic design and title sequence Frederik Damsgaard
VFX supervisor Stefan Rycken
Lead compositing Kosmas Stergiou


Stunt coordinator Dennis Albrechtsen
Stunt double Mads Møller
Stunt double Rasmus Hedegaard
Stunt double Signe Wolff Ravneberg


Marie Anine-Petrea Lindvig
Hans Albert Rudbeck Lindhardt
Kneisvig Lars Brygmann
Madame Munk Kirsten Olesen
Jens Peter Jensen Lars Ranthe
Albert Andersen Jon Lange
Agnete Andersen Molly Blixt Egelind
Johannes Vinkel Nikolaj Dencker Schmidt
Direktør Vinkel Flemming Enevold
Karl Bertil Karlshøj Smith
Sofie Ella Daisy Anthony-Collins
Dagmar Anna Kirstine Relster Thouber
Ældre sømand Anders Koch
Havnestuver Klaus Søndergaard
Esben Troels Einarson
Sigrid Lisa Teige
Gullvik Jo Adrian Haavind
Norsk sømand Bjørn Fjæstad
Fru Vinkel Helene Egelund
Signe Jeanette Lindbæk
Alma Viola Ellehammer Dasseville
Gårdkarl Joakim Skovgård
Sømand på damper Morten Lindemann Olsen

Download PDF