Before the Frost

Michael Noer, Denmark, 2018

104 min.DramaDK/Feature

Harsh circumstances reign in the countryside in the middle of the 19th century and with the prospect of yet another tough winter, the farmer Jens faces an unbearable choice. If the family is to survive the winter, he must make a deal with the rich farmer at the nearby farm and forsake his own moral and the most precious he owns, in an effort to secure them all a better life.
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Danish title Før frosten
Other titles Before the Frost
Director Michael Noer
Screenplay Jesper Fink, Michael Noer
Producer Matilda Appelin, René Ezra, Tomas Radoor
Director of Photography Sturla Brandth Grøvlen
Casting Tanja Grunwald
Appearances Jesper Christensen, Clara Rosager, Magnus Krepper, Elliott Crosset Hove
Production country Denmark
Subtitles No
Audio description No
Production companies Nordisk Film Distribution A/S, Nordisk Film Production A/S
Domestic distribution Nordisk Film Distribution A/S
International sale TrustNordisk / Filmbyen 22 / 2650 Hvidovre / t +45 3686 8788 / f +45 3677 4448 / info@trustnordisk.com / www.trustnordisk.com
Danish theatrical release 10.01.2019
Comment Jesper Christensen plays the lead in this fifth feature by Michael Noer, who world premiered his previous film, the international co-production 'Papillon' (2017), at Toronto. Noer made his feature debut with the prison drama 'R' (2010) and has also directed the gangster drama 'Norhtwest' (2013) and 'Key House Mirror' (2015).
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte
Danish rating Allowed for children over the age of 15


Production companies Nordisk Film Distribution A/S, Nordisk Film Production A/S
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut
In colaboration with DR
Domestic distribution Nordisk Film Distribution A/S


Direction Michael Noer
Casting Tanja Grunwald


Screenplay Jesper Fink
Screenplay Michael Noer


Producer Matilda Appelin
Producer René Ezra
Producer Tomas Radoor
Executive producer Henrik Zein
Executive producer Lena Haugaard


Cinematographer Sturla Brandth Grøvlen

Electrical dept.

Gaffer Aslak Lytthans


Editor Adam Nielsen


Composer Rune Tonsgaard Sørensen

Production design

Production designer Søren Schwarzberg


Key costumer Louize Nissen


Chief makeup artist Bjørg Serup


Sound designer Morten Green
Sound designer Nino Jacobsen


Jens Jesper Christensen
Signe Clara Rosager
Gustav Magnus Krepper
Peder Elliott Crosset Hove
Holger Rasmus Hammerich
Agnes Ghita Nørby
Laurits Gustav Dyekjær Giese
Ole Oscar Dyekjær Giese
Mads Bertil De Lorenzi
Degnen Martin Greis

Awards and nominations

Award Year Festival
Special Jury Award 2018 Tokyo International Film Festival 2018
Best Actor 2018 Tokyo International Film Festival 2018
Best Actor 2018 Chicago International Film Festival 2018

Festival screenings

Festival Festival date
Lübeck, Nordische Filmtage 2018-10-30
Tokyo International Film Festival 2018-10-25
Rome International Film Festival 2018-10-18
Chicago International Film Festival 2018-10-11
CPH PIX 2018-09-27
Toronto International Film Festival 2018-09-06
Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.