The Fight for Greenland

Kenneth Sorento, Denmark

90 min.DK/Documentary

The world's largest island has been part of Denmark since 1721, but a significant majority of the 56.000 inhabitants now want independence. They feel their culture and language is threatened and is the main reason for the many suicides among young people. But the Danish speaking Greenlanders feel discriminated and want to keep the ties to Denmark. The film follows four strong young Greenlanders, who each in their own way insist on taking responsibility for the future of their country. The documentary explores the difficult balance between the right to self-determination and xenophobic nationalism. Between traditional culture and globalization.
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Original title Kampen om Grønland
Danish title Kampen om Grønland
Other titles The Fight for Greenland
Director Kenneth Sorento
Producer Ulrik Gutkin
Appearances Josef Tarrak, Paninnguaq Heilmann, Kaaleeraq M. Andersen, Tillie Martinussen
Production country Denmark
Production companies Copenhagen Film Company ApS
International sales DR International Sales / DR Byen / Emil Holms Kanal 20 / 0999 København C / t +45 3520 3040 / f +45 3520 3969 / drsales@dr.dk / www.drsales.dk
Comment Director and cinematographer Kenneth Sorento has extensive experience in filming in the Arctic region.
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte


Production companies Copenhagen Film Company ApS
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut, DR


Direction Kenneth Sorento
Director supervisor Eva Mulvad
Assistant director Malik Kleist


Producer Ulrik Gutkin
Co-executive producer Jørgen Chemnitz
Co-executive producer Benedikte Bredesen


Appearance Josef Tarrak
Appearance Paninnguaq Heilmann
Appearance Kaaleeraq M. Andersen
Appearance Tillie Martinussen

Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.