Journey to Utopia

Erlend E. Mo, Denmark, 2020

90 min.DK/Documentary

A Danish-Norwegian couple and their children live happily at their picture-perfect family farm in Norway. But climate anxiety and an ever-growing urge to act to secure their children's future keep the parents up at night. They decide to move to 'Permatopia', a self-sufficient, organic cooperative in Denmark. Upon arrival, however, it turns out that the cooperative is not yet built. The focus shifts from saving the planet to saving the family. Permatopia finally welcomes its new inhabitants, but is a farming cooperative also a sustainable solution for a family of five headstrong individualists? A balancing act between ideals and reality, community obligations and individual freedom begins.
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Original title Rejsen til Utopia
Danish title Rejsen til Utopia
Other titles Journey to Utopia
Director Erlend E. Mo
Screenplay Erlend E. Mo
Producer Lise Lense-Møller
Director of Photography Erlend E. Mo, Casper Høyberg
Editor Åsa Mossberg
Sound Anders Kwarnmark
Composer Magnus Jarlbo, Sebastian Öberg
Production country Denmark, Norway, Sweden
Production companies Magic Hour Films
International sales Autlook Filmsales / Spittelberggasse 3/14 / 1070 Wien / t +43 670 208 7881 / welcome@autlookfilms.com / autlookfilms.com
Comment Among Norwegian-born Erlend E. Mo's award-winning films are 'Can You Die in Heaven?' (2005), 'My Eyes' (2006) and 'Four Letters Apart' (2013)
DFI subsidy Konsulentstøtte


Production companies Magic Hour Films
Co-producer Mosaikk Film, Indie Film, Vilda Bomben AB, Film i Väst
With support from Det Danske Filminstitut, Sørnorsk Filmsenter, Eurimages, Svenska Filminstitutet, Norsk Filminstitutt, SVT, NRK


Direction Erlend E. Mo


Screenplay Erlend E. Mo


Producer Lise Lense-Møller
Co-producer Erlend E. Mo
Co-producer Carsten Aanonsen
Co-producer Fredrik Lange
Production Kristoffer Barslund


Cinematographer Erlend E. Mo
Cinematographer Casper Høyberg


Editor Åsa Mossberg
Editor: TV version Stefan Sundlöf


Composer Magnus Jarlbo
Composer Sebastian Öberg


Sound designer Anders Kwarnmark
Sound consultant Andreas Kongsgaard

Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.