Tobias Lindholm

(1977 – )

Director, screenwriter. Born 1977. Screenwriter graduate from the National Film School of Denmark, 2007.

Lindholm made his feature film debut with 'R' (2010), which he wrote and directed with Michael Noer. The film won the main prize for Best Nordic Feature at Göteborg Film Festival, where it also received the FIPRESCI honour. 'R' also won seven Danish Robert awards, including best feature, in addition to three Danish Bodil awards also including best feature.

His second feature film 'A Hijacking' (2012) was selected for film festivals in both Venice, Toronto and Tokyo and won the audience award in Göteborg. The film also won a Robert and a Bodil for best Danish feature. Lindholm additionally became one of Variety's 10 Directors to Watch at the Palm Springs International Film Festival. His follow-up 'A War' (2015) was selected for Sundance and Venice and was subsequently nominated for an Oscar for best foreign language feature.

In addition to his work as a director, Lindholm has served as a screenwriter on numerous Danish features, including several films by Thomas Vinterberg. He made his screenwriting feature debut on 'Submarino' (2010), which premiered in competition at the Berlinale and won the Nordic Council Film Prize. The collaboration with Vinterberg continued on 'The Hunt' (2012), which won the best actor prize as well as the Ecumenical Jury Award in Cannes 2012. The film was subsequently nominated for an Oscar for best foreign language feature.

Lindholm also wrote Vinterberg's 'The Commune' (2016), winner of the Silver Bear at the Berlinale, and his follow-up 'Another Round' (2020), which screened at Cannes and Toronto as well as San Sebastián and London, where it won awards. 'Another Round' also received four European Film Awards, including the main prize for best European film and the award for best screenplay, as well as nominaions at the Oscars and Golden Globes.

Lindholm has written several episodes for the TV series 'The Summers' (2008) and the international hit TV series and BAFTA winner 'Borgen' (2010-13). Also served as an episode writer on seasons one and two of 'Follow the Money' (2016). Lindholm wrote and directed the mini series 'The Investigation' (2020).
Title Year Function Category
Winning Hearts and Minds 2023 Executive producer DK/Documentary
The Good Nurse 2022 Direction Feature
Music for Black Pigeons 2022 Editing supervisor DK/Documentary
A Taste of Hunger 2021 Screenplay DK/Feature
Cannon Arm and the Arcade Quest 2021 Consultant, Consultant DK/Documentary
The Investigation 2020 Direction, Screenplay, Executive producer TV series
Another Round 2020 Screenplay DK/Feature
Attacked – The Copenhagen Shootings 2020 Dramaturge consultant DK/Documentary
Queen of Hearts 2019 Consultant DK/Feature
The Commune 2016 Screenplay DK/Feature
Follow the Money 2016 Idea TV series
Follow the Money 2016 Idea TV series
A War 2015 Direction, Screenplay DK/Feature
April 9th 2015 Screenplay DK/Feature
Interruption 2015 Script consultant, Editing supervisor DK/Short fiction
The Arms Drop 2014 Screenplay DK/Documentary
Danny's Doomsday 2014 Script consultant DK/Feature
The Cartel 2014 Script consultant DK/Feature
The Hunt 2013 Screenplay DK/Feature
The Hour of the Lynx 2013 Screenplay DK/Feature
A Hijacking 2012 Direction, Screenplay DK/Feature
Borgen 2 2011 Writer (episode) TV series
R 2010 Direction, Officer, Screenplay DK/Feature
Submarino 2010 Screenplay DK/Feature
Borgen 1 2010 Writer (episode) TV series
Big man 2008 Script DK/Short fiction
The Summers 2008 Writer (episode) TV series
Meet me in Berlin 2007 Screenplay DK/Short fiction
Hawaii 2006 Script DK/Short fiction
Emmalou 2006 Script consultant DK/Short fiction
In Transit 2005 Script DK/Short fiction