The Cave

Feras Fayyad, Denmark, 2019

106 min.DK/Documentary

For the besieged Syrian civilians, hope and safety lie underground, inside the subterranean hospital known as the Cave, where pediatrician and managing physician Dr. Amani Ballour and her colleagues Samaher and Dr. Alaa have claimed their right to work as equals alongside their male counterparts, doing their jobs in a way that would be unthinkable in the oppressively patriarchal culture that exists above. Following the women as they contend with daily bombardments, chronic supply shortages and the ever-present threat of chemical attacks, the film paints a stirring portrait of courage, resilience and female solidarity.
Basic information Credits Festivals & awards
Original title The Cave
Danish title The Cave
Other titles The Cave
Director Feras Fayyad
Screenplay Alisar Hasan
Producer Kirstine Barfod, Sigrid Jonsson Dyekjær
Director of Photography Muhammed Khair Al Shami, Ammar Sulaiman, Mohammad Eyad
Editor Per K. Kirkegaard
Sound Peter Albrechtsen
Composer Matthew Herbert
Production country Denmark
Production companies Danish Documentary Production
International sales Dogwoof Ltd / Ground Floor / 19-23 Ironmonger Row / EC1V 3QN London / t +44 207 253 6244 / info@dogwoof.com / dogwoof.com
Comment Winner of the Grolsch People's Choice Documentary Award at Toronto Film Festival. The film is Feras Fayyad’s second documentary feature, following the Oscar-nominated 'Last Men in Aleppo' (2017) about Syria's White Helmets, which also took home top prizes at Sundance, CPH:DOX and the News and Documentary Emmy Awards, among others.


Production companies Danish Documentary Production


Direction Feras Fayyad


Screenplay Alisar Hasan
Co-writer Feras Fayyad


Producer Kirstine Barfod
Producer Sigrid Jonsson Dyekjær


Cinematographer Muhammed Khair Al Shami
Cinematographer Ammar Sulaiman
Cinematographer Mohammad Eyad


Editor Per K. Kirkegaard


Composer Matthew Herbert


Sound designer Peter Albrechtsen

Awards and nominations

Award Year Festival
Peoples Choice Award 2019 Toronto International Film Festival 2019

Festival screenings

Festival Festival date
Amsterdam, IDFA 2019-11-20
New York, DOC NYC Film Festival 2019-11-07
Busan International Film Festival 2019-10-03
London Film Festival 2019-10-02
Toronto International Film Festival 2019-09-05
Det Danske Filminstitut registrerer international festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, dog primært de titler, som Filminstituttet varetager i sin festivaldistribution, og primært i forbindelse med de festivaler, som Filminstituttet har prioriteret at samarbejde med. Registreringen af festivaldeltagelse og priser til danske film, der ikke er i festivaldistribution, foretages kun for "launch"-festivaler ifølge Filminstituttets prioriterede festivalliste. Se listen over prioriterede festivaler.